Affessi, Belfield, Sansing Earn LSC Track and Field Honors

March 23, 2020

CONTACT: Tyson Jex, 806-651-4430,

WT's Affessi, Belfield, Sansing Earn LSC Track & Field Honors

RICHARDSON, Texas West Texas A&M earned three of the four 2020 Lone Star Conference Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Year awards announced on Monday morning following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

The Lady Buffs swept the women’s awards for the first time in program history with Leah Belfield named the track athlete of the year and Fatim Affessi being named the field athlete of the year for a third consecutive season. For the first time in program history, the Buff took home a specialty award with Quinton Sansing being named the track athlete of the year.

Affessi becomes the second student-athlete in LSC history to be named field athlete of the year three consecutive years joining Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Jerron Robinson. The senior from Geneva, Switzerland finished the indoor season ranked first in NCAA DII women’s track & field in the long and triple jump. Her mark of 42.5-5 (12.94m) in the triple jump at the LSC Championships was the top mark in the nation while her jump of 20-10.75 (6.37m) at the Corky Classic was the sixth-best in NCAA DII history.

Belfield becomes the first Lady Buff to earn women’s Track Athlete of Year honors after winning the 60-meter dash as the indoor championships in February. The freshman from Te Awamutu, New Zealand won the 60m dash running a personal best time of 7.56 in the final, which was the 25th fastest time in the nation. She also finished second in the 200-meters with the seventh-fastest time in program history, 24.46.

Sansing was named the Men’s Track Athlete of the Year after winning his first individual LSC title in the 400-meters and finishing second in the 200-meters. He ran 47.23, the fifth-fastest time in program history, to win the 400m out of the first heat followed up with the second-fastest time in the 200m, 21.32. The junior from Floresville ranked seventh in the 400-meters and 18th in the 200-meters while running the anchor leg on the 4x400-meter relay that qualified for the championships.