West Texas A&M University - Home
Department of History Faculty

Department of History

Faculty

 Stephen Bogener

Dr. Stephen Bogener

Assistant Professor of History

“Fight the good fight.”

sbogener@wtamu.edu
Dr. Bogener's Bio

 Tim Bowman

Dr. Tim Bowman

Assistant Professor of History

“I want to show you something, so you can argue.” – Ed Countryman

tbowman@wtamu.edu
Dr. Bowman's Bio

Dr. Bruce Brasington

Dr. Bruce Brasington

Professor of History

"I believe that teaching history and doing historical research is my vocation. God has called me to this work. I chose medieval history because of my abiding interest in the history of Christianity. In graduate school, a special interest in canon law was awakened by my professors. It has never faded. I am a product of public education and thus value what we do at WTAMU. This is democracy in action. We have also created an extraordinarily collegial atmosphere in our department. This is another reason why I enjoy my work. Finally, my students can expect to be taken seriously, to be challenged, to work, to be aggravated (at times) and, at least I hope, sometimes inspired."

bbrasington@wtamu.edu    
Dr. Brasington's Bio

http://knowledgeforge.net/ivo/

Dr. Elizabeth Morrow Clark

Dr. Elizabeth Morrow Clark

Associate Professor of History

You who have wronged a simple man.
Bursting into laughter at the crime ...
... Do not feel safe. The poet remembers.
You can slay one, but another is born.
The words are written down, the deed, the date.

Czeslaw Milosz, "You who were wronged," excerpt engraved at the Solidarity Monument in Gdansk, Poland.

"Students in my courses can expect to learn how to personalize the world, and that seeking justice and hope is a noble and worthy task."

eclark@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Clark's Bio

Dr. Paul Clark

Dr. Paul Clark

Associate Professor of History

"Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance."  - Will Durant

pclark@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Clark's Bio

Dr. Marty Kuhlman

Dr. Marty Kuhlman

Professor of History

"I enjoy the interaction with students and the opportunity to be involved in educational development."

mkuhlman@wtamu.ed
Dr. Kuhlman's Bio

Dr. Byron Pearson

Dr. Byron Pearson

Associate Professor of History

"I hate quotations. Tell me what you know."  - Ralph Waldo Emerson

bpearson@wtamu.edu
Dr. Pearson's Bio

 Matthew Reardon

Matthew Reardon

Assistant Professor of History

 “Chance favors the prepared mind.”—Louis Pasteur

mreardon@wtamu.edu
Matthew Reardon's Bio

Dr. Wade Shaffer

Dr. Wade Shaffer

Provost, Professor of History

"History is more that just a long list of facts and dates to be memorized. Historians ask foundational questions about the human experience and all of human activity lies in their field of study. In my classes we focus on the human dimension of the past - how people lived, how laws and science and religion and technology changed their lives, and how they responded and adapted to those changes. History done right can be truly inspiring and fascinating."

wshaffer@wtamu.edu
Dr. Shaffer's Bio

 Dr. Jean Stuntz

Dr. Jean Stuntz

Professor of History

"I love learning and teaching people how to learn.  History is so much more than facts—it is interpreting facts so that we can learn more about ourselves and our surroundings. I also love WTAMU.  The students here are terrific, and the view out my window is spectacular. Come by and see for yourself."

jstuntz@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Stuntz's Bio

 Dr. Bryan Vizzini

Dr. Bryan Vizzini

Associate Professor of History

"I remain a student at heart and I'm in the business not only of teaching, but learning from the people who enroll in my classes.  It is truly the best of both worlds."

bvizzini@wtamu.edu
Dr. Vizzini's Bio

 

 

Apply Now