West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
WTAMU Undergraduate Research Award Recipients Named

June 2, 2014

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Undergraduate Research Award Recipients Named

CANYON, Texas—Methane production, a supercritical dryer and customer loyalty are just a few of the topics nine students at West Texas A&M University will explore as recipients of the 2014 President’s Undergraduate Summer Research Grant Awards.

The University’s Killgore Research Committee reviewed numerous proposals for the undergraduate awards and chose nine winners and seven projects based on the potential for valuable information gleaned from the research as well as the valuable research experience provided for each student. The maximum amount per award is $3,500 and available for all disciplines.

The nine students and seven research proposals selected for the Undergraduate Research Awards include:
Josh Dye, a senior wildlife biology major from Bushland—Effects of Established Oil Pads on Herpetofauna Communities. Faculty mentor is Dr. Richard Kazmaier, associate professor of biology.
Lance White, a junior mechanical engineering major from Levelland—The Ion Chromatography Profiles of Water Samples in the Panhandle. Faculty mentor is Dr. Nathan Howell, assistant professor of environmental engineering.
Kendra Cox, a senior agricultural business and economics major from Mancos, Colo.—Does Customer Loyalty Pay, or Are You Paying for Customer Loyalty. Faculty mentor is Dr. Mallory Vestal, assistant professor of agricultural business and economics.
Madison Gavette, a senior biology major from Saginaw—Observed Chemoresistance Attributed to Upregulation of Serine/Threonine Kinase Akt. Faculty mentor is Dr. David Khan, associate professor of biochemistry.
Jamie Farren, a sophomore environmental science major from Canyon—Methane Production/pH in Scraped Dry-lot Substrates in Non-heated Bioreactors. Faculty mentor is Dr. David Parker, professor of environmental science and engineering.
James Ritter, a junior computer information systems major from Aztec, N.M.,—Pi in the Sky. Faculty mentor is Dr. Jeffry Babb, assistant professor of computer information systems.
John Mulloy, a senior mechanical engineering major from Frisco; Tanner Devenney,  a senior mechanical engineering major from Canyon; and Zhitao Xie, a senior mechanical engineering major from China—Design, Construction and Operation of a Supercritical Dryer. Faculty mentor is Dr. Emily Hunt, director of the School of Engineering and associate professor of mechanical engineering.


Post a Comment