West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
WTAMU Engineering Team Takes Spirit Award at Competition

Jan. 22, 2014

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Engineering Team Takes Spirit Award at Competition

CANYON, Texas—A team of civil engineering students at West Texas A&M University entered its first regional competition and walked away with a fifth-place finish and the Keith McBride Spirit of Competition Award at the 2014 Texas-New Mexico Steel Bridge Competition Jan. 17-18 at the University of Texas at Arlington.

The seven-member team finished fifth overall out of 15 bridges and finished ahead of teams representing such schools as Texas Tech University, The University of Texas at Austin and Southern Methodist University. The competition requires the team to erect a steel structure from conception and design through fabrication and testing. Team members are faced with real-world engineering issues while they use engineering principles and theory to work with spatial constraints, serviceability, safety, etc.

WTAMU Engineering Team“It was an amazing experience, and we learned so much about how our classes apply to real- world scenarios.” Chris Enriquez, a senior engineering major from Floydada, said. “We are so thankful for the chance to compete, and I am hoping that one day we can host the competition here at WT.”

The WTAMU team also was recognized with the coveted Keith McBride Spirit of Competition Award. The award is given to the one team that exhibits outstanding professionalism toward other teams and competition officials, a positive and productive work ethic and a spirit of competitiveness.

“We awarded your students the Spirit of the Competition award, but I also wanted to compliment your students more specifically,” Beth Brueggen, competition judge and associate with Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates of Irving. “They carried themselves very well and were noted for being exceptionally polite, prepared, organized and professional in their demeanor.”

The WTAMU team members are listed by hometown and classification.
Adam Hilliard, senior
Naruechar Phongam, senior
Cheyenne Wells, Colo.
Dustin Livingston, senior
Chris Enriquez, senior
Mark Herrera
Guillermo Morado, junior
Strasburg, Colo.
Paige Earl, junior


Post a Comment



Randy Foil
on 1.27.2014

I was one of the judges. Your team did an amazing job for their first competition.