West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
University Receives SACSCOC Reaffirmation of Accreditation

Dec. 7, 2016

CONTACT:    Dr. Walter Wendler, 806-651-2100, wwendler@wtamu.edu

COPY BY:     Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

University Receives SACSCOC Reaffirmation of Accreditation


CANYON, Texas—Officials at West Texas A&M University have received reaffirmation of its accreditation through 2026 from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The announcement was made late Tuesday, Dec. 6, during the Commission’s annual meeting in Atlanta, Ga.

The reaffirmation comes after a series of vigorous reviews—both on-site and off-site—to ensure that WTAMU is continuing to provide the resources, programs and services to accomplish its mission of excellence in teaching and learning. The reaffirmation process is conducted every 10 years, and WTAMU hosted a SACSCOC on-site reaffirmation committee in late March in preparation for the December reaffirmation announcement. The University was first accredited in 1925 and last reaffirmed in 2006.

“Earning reaffirmation was the result of years of hard, sometimes painstaking work by many, many people on campus,” Dr. Wade Shaffer, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said. “It confirms that WTAMU provides a high quality education to our students and that the University operates in an ethical and responsible manner.”

Reaffirmation also signifies that WTAMU meets or exceeds national standards and enables the University to receive federal funds, including scholarships, loans and research grants. It is an important element of recognition for students working toward degrees at WTAMU.

SACSCOC is the regional accrediting body for institutions awarding degrees at the baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral levels. It accredits higher education institutions in the Southern states and serves as the common denominator of shared values and practices among the diverse institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Latin America and other international sites approved by the Commission.


Post a Comment