West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
University Announces Staff, Faculty Award Winners

Aug. 22, 2013

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

University Announces Staff, Faculty Award Winners

CANYON, Texas—Four West Texas A&M employees were honored with some of the University’s highest awards during the annual Faculty/Staff Convocation Aug. 20 at the Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Legacy Hall.

Dr. J. Patrick O’Brien, University president, and Misty Hobbs, president of the WTAMU Staff Council, presented the tKyle Moorehree coveted staff awards—the Clarence E. Thompson Staff Excellence Award and two Staff Excellence Awards—and Dr. Wade Shaffer, provost/vice president for academic affairs, and Bill Ambrose, president of Faculty Senate, presented the Magister Optimus Award for faculty.

The Clarence E. Thompson Staff Excellence Award, the University’s highest staff honor, was presented to Kyle Moore, director of admissions.

Moore, a former student worker at WTAMU, joined the University staff in 2003 as an admissions adviser and was promoted to associate director in 2006. He moved to the interim director position in June 2012 and was named director of admissions in October of that year. He earned a bachelor’s degree in wildlife biology at WTAMU and finished his master’s in plant, soil and environmental science in December 2006.

One of Moore’s nominations read, in part, “I cannot imagine many people here at WTAMU who have the heartfelt devotion that Kyle does to the University as well as to his family and friends. He truly defines what makes WTAMU special when you describe the University community as a family.”

Staff Excellence Awards went to Jon Davis, assistant vice president of student affairs, and Conny Sain, secretary II for math, chemistry and physics.

Davis joined the WTAMU staff in 1989 as an area coordinator of residential living. He worked his way up the ranks froDr. John Pipkinm assistant director of residential living in 1992 to senior director of residential living in 1993. In September 2010 Davis was named to his current position as assistant vice president for student affairs. He serves on numerous University committees and is known as a leader who is happy to take on whatever task is asked of him.

Sain joined WTAMU in March 2009 and is known for projecting a positive image of the Department of Math, Chemistry and Physics to students, faculty and staff. One of her nominations read, in part, “She has a kind heart and is very interested in helping people. To that extent, Conny does not refuse requests from faculty who ask her for help with something.”

The faculty award was introduced by Shaffer, who said Magister Optimus translates to “best teacher.” Ambrose presented the award to Dr. John Pipkin, professor of animal science and director of the equine program.

Pipkin joined the WTAMU faculty in 1993 as an associate professor and director of the equine industry and business program. Since then his horse judging teams have earned 81 champion or reserve champion titles. He is committed to teaching and puts in long hours with his students, including many 7 a.m. Saturday morning and late evening sessions. He truly represents what Magister Optimas stands for and has earned the respect of his students as well as his colleagues and is an outstanding representative of WTAMU.  



Post a Comment