West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Three Chemistry Faculty Elected to ACS Local Section Executive Committee

Dec. 6, 2016

CONTACT:    Dr. Nick Flynn 806-651-2542, nflynn@wtamu.edu

Three Chemistry Faculty Elected to ACS Local Section Executive Committee


CANYON, Texas—Three faculty members at West Texas A&M University have been elected to the executive committee of the American Chemical Society Panhandle Plains local section for 2017.

WTAMU faculty members nominated and elected to serve are Dr. Jason Yarbrough, assistant professor of chemistry, chair elect; Dr. Greg McGovern, instructor of chemistry, secretary; and Dr. Nick Flynn, professor of biochemistry, councilor. Dr. Cathy Clewett, associate professor of physics, remains in the position of alternate councilor for the local section and brings the total WTAMU representation in the local section Executive Committee to four.

“We are both glad and proud to see faculty in our department active in our local section,” Dr. David Khan, head of the Department of Chemistry and Physics, said. “This provides our students with additional representation at the regional and national level.”

According to the local section bylaws, the chair elect assists the chair with direction and management of the section. The secretary records meeting minutes and notifies members of meetings and section business. The councilor serves a three-year position and provides representation of the local section at two national ACS meetings each year.

“This is another example of the quality of our students and faculty in the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences,” Dr. Hawkins, dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, said. “We are proud of the work our faculty in chemistry and physics do in and out of the classroom.”  

Dr. Shaffer, provost and vice president of academic affairs at WTAMU agrees. “These appointments affirm not only the high quality of WTAMU's faculty members, but also their commitment to community outreach and service.”

For additional information regarding the Panhandle Plains local section, please contact Dr. Nick Flynn at 806-651-2542 or by email at nflynn@wtamu.edu.



Post a Comment