West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Old Main Society to Induct New Members, Present 2012 Pinnacle Award

June 19, 2012

COPY BY:    Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Old Main Society to Induct New Members, Present 2012 Pinnacle Award

CANYON, Texas—Eleven new members will be recognized when the West Texas A&M University Foundation hosts its annual Old Main Society formal induction ceremony Thursday, June 28 on campus.

The Foundation will recognize new members to the Old Main Society and honor 2012 Pinnacle Award recipients Jack and Helene Hayward during the annual event. A reception begins at 6 p.m., followed by the induction of the new members at 6:30 p.m. in the foyer of Old Main. A recognition dinner is at 8 p.m. on the Pedestrian Mall.

The Old Main Society was established in 1998 to recognize individuals, organizations and corporations that have given lifetime contributions of $50,000 or more to support the students and mission of West Texas A&M. Recognition levels are Supporter, $50,000-$99,999; Sustainer, $100,000-$249,999; Ambassador, $250,000-$499,999; Patron, $500,000-$999,999; Benefactor, $1 million-$4,999,999 and Visionary, $5 million or more.

Contributions from Old Main Society donors endow scholarships and provide financial assistance to students, enhance instructional programs, provide faculty development opportunities and awards for outstanding teaching, and build and enhance campus facilities.

The Old Main Society inductees for 2012 are:
• The Anna Belle Kritser II Foundation, David Kritser and Bill Countiss, Trustees—Supporter
• The Anna Belle Kritser II Foundation and The Ed and Margaret Roberts Foundation, Bill Countiss, Trustee—Supporter
• Hassan and Jill Dana and Kareem Dana—Sustainer
• Osman Dana—Sustainer
• Frances S. and J. Evetts Haley Jr.—Sustainer
• CSI Meridian Division—Supporter
• M.K. Brown Foundation—Supporter
• CEFCO-Fikes Wholesale, Inc.—Supporter
• Dr. Mary L. Green Estate—Supporter
• K. Roger Williams and Ana Estevez—Supporter
• Donald E. and Twanna Powell—Benefactor

Jack and Helene HaywardThe Old Main event also will include the presentation of the Pinnacle Award. The Foundation’s first Pinnacle Award was presented in 2005 to recognize an outstanding donor who not only supports the University financially, but also gives of their time and labor to promote WTAMU in the community, and Jack and Helene Hayward definitely exemplify that pinnacle of giving.

The Haywards are ardent supporters of WTAMU, not only as donors, but also as students and active participants in the life of the campus. Both Jack and Helene came to WTAMU as retirees, and she earned her master’s degree in art in 2002, and he finished his master’s in professional counseling in 2006. Jack also became a member of the WT Marching Band. In 2008, the Haywards gifted the University with the Hayward Spirit Tower, the skyscraping timepiece that marks the north entrance to WTAMU’s Pedestrian Mall. It quickly became one of the University’s most recognizable landmarks and plays the Hayward’s requested Westminster Chimes on the hour and the University Fight Song at noon each day. They also are active members of the community and have been recognized for their support of the Amarillo SPCA and for their commitment to the art collection at the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum.



Post a Comment