West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Mortar Board Names Outstanding Professors for 2013-2014

April 2, 2014

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Mortar Board Names Outstanding Professors for 2013-2014

CANYON, Texas—Five faculty members at West Texas A&M University have been named Outstanding Professors for 2013-2014 by the University’s Mortar Board Senior Honors Society.

The Outstanding Professors are Elizabeth Moore, research associate, College of Agriculture, Science and Engineering; Dr. De’Arno De’Armond, Gene Edwards Professor of Financial Planning, College of Business; Dr. Teri Bingham, associate professor of education, College of Education and Social Sciences; Dr. Robert Krause, professor of music, Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities; and Dr. Brenda Cross, instructor and head of the Department of Communication Disorders, College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Each year Mortar Board members nominate professors who have in some way made them better students. It’s called an “Apple Polishing” event and this year, more than 50 professors were named. Members then vote from the nominees for the individual professor from each college to be recognized as an Outstanding Professor.

In addition to the five honorees, the Apple Polishing Award recipients include Alice Upshaw, Ann Wallace, Dr. Brock Blaser, George Fox, Cara Speer, Catherine Bowers, Connie McKee, Dr. Anne Macy Terry, Dr. Ashley Campbell, Dr. Bonnie Roos, Dr. Brenda Cross, Dr. Christopher Meerdink, Dr. David Khan, Dr. David Lust, Dr. De’Arno De’Armond, Dr. Duane Rosa, Dr. Elizabeth Clark, Dr. Guglielmo Manfredi, Dr. Harry Hueston, Dr. Janet Hindman, Dr. Jeffrey Doty, Dr. Jenifer Kunz, Dr. Rex Lee, Dr. John Richeson, Dr. John Pipkin, Dr. Jonathan Shaffer, Dr. Tanner Robertson, Dr. Lance Baker, Dr. Mallory Vestal, Dr. Martin Kuhlman, Dr. Martin Jacobsen, Dr. Maxine DeButte and Dr. Melody Loya.

Also Dr. Mo Cuevas, Dr. Monica Hart, Dr. Pamela Lockwood-Cooke, Dr. Robert Beckley, Dr. Robert Hansen, Dr. Robert Krause, Dr. Rocky Ward, Dr. Stephen Severn, Dr. Syed Anwar, Dr. Trudy Hanson, Dr. Ty Lawrence, Dr. Wade Shaffer, Kimberli Phillips, Elizabeth Moore, Sandra Davidson, Dr. Kenneth Leitch, Rebecca Linke, Dr. Teri Bingham, Vanessa Alanis and William Ambrose.
Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for their achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. The organization provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

Members of the Apple Polishing committee included Jennifer Hightower, Ashley Guinn, Katelyn Gunn, Lindsey Davis, Virginia Froese, Brittany Lasak, Clinton Henriod, Leah Moore, Jordanne Diaz, Brianna Moore, Charlotte Coots and committee leader Lauren Willard.


Post a Comment



joyce kunz
on 4.9.2014

Congratulations Dr. Jenifer Kunz. We are so happy for you.