West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Khan Named Ross Wilson Chair in Chemistry at WTAMU

May 13, 2014

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Khan Named Ross Wilson Chair in Chemistry at WTAMU

CANYON, Texas—Officials at West Texas A&M University have named Dr. David Khan as the Ross W. Wilson Chair in Chemistry. Khan, an assistant professor of biochemistry, was named to the chair in recognition of his work in cancer research.Dr. David Khan

“It is clear that Dr. Khan works to establish a collaborative environment in his laboratory,” Dr. Don Topliff, dean of the College of Agriculture, Science and Engineering, said. “His research students understand their research projects and provide excellent research presentations. His work in cancer research has helped increase the visibility of his department and WT.”

Khan joined the faculty at WTAMU in 2009 as an assistant professor of Biochemistry. He has 38  refereed articles, book chapters and presentations in his career. Prior to coming to Canyon, Khan worked as a postdoctoral associate at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, Penn. He earned a Ph.D. degree in biochemistry from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Fla. In addition to teaching general chemistry courses, Khan teaches biochemistry and biochemistry labs to both undergraduate and graduate students.

The Ross W. Wilson Chair in Chemistry was established in 2008 with gifts from the family, friends and colleagues of the late Ross W. Wilson, a 1938 graduate of West Texas State College, and the estate of Hazel Kelley Wilson in recognition of his visionary leadership and the many significant contributions he made in the field of chemistry. Appointment to the position is for a three-year term and enables the University to identify and retain an outstanding chemistry faculty member while paying tribute to the Wilson family. Dr. Shiquan Tao served as the first Ross Wilson Chair.

The University will recognize Khan and other WTAMU professors holding endowed chairs or professorships as well as the donors of those endowments at a special ceremony this upcoming year.


Post a Comment