Gallery Reception to Recognize 2016-2017 University Award Winners

Nov. 2, 2017

CONTACT:    Rik Andersen, 806-651-2127,

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129,

Gallery Reception to Recognize 2016-2017 University Award Winners


CANYON, Texas—Faculty and staff award winners at West Texas A&M University will be honored during a Gallery of Excellence reception from 2:30-4 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 7 in Cornette Library on campus. The annual come-and-go event recognizes the 2016-2017 excellence award winners with the installation of their environmental portraits in the Gallery of Excellence located on the first floor in the library.

The event is hosted each fall by the WTAMU Office of Communication and Marketing for the recipients, their friends, families and colleagues. The event was created 25 years ago to give University award winners the recognition they deserve. Environmental photos of the award winners are taken by Rik Andersen, University photographer and will hang in the Gallery of Excellence through November 2018.

Faculty and staff whose portraits will be featured this year in the Gallery of Excellence are:

Dr. Syed Tariq Anwar, professor of marketing—Magister Optimus Award;
Dr. Jeffry Babb, Gensler Professor of Computer Information Systems—Intellectual Contributions Award;
Shawn Burns, chief of the University Police Department—Staff Excellence Award;
Brandy Carr, senior academic adviser in advising services—Clarence E. Thompson Staff Excellence Award;
Dr. Chuck Chase, associate professor of sports and exercise sciences—Professional Service Award;
Nancy Hampton, Title IX coordinator —Staff Excellence Award;
Audrey Meador, instructor of mathematics—Instructional Excellence Award; and
Betty Stocker, dean’s secretary in the College of Business—Staff Employee of the Year.



Post a Comment