West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Faculty Members Receive End-of-Year Awards

May 7, 2013

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Faculty Members Receive End-of-Year Awards

CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University closed its spring semester with the presentation of the 2012-2013 Faculty Excellence Awards May 6 at the annual Faculty Meeting on campus. Three faculty members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to higher education, and one faculty member was recognized as a 2013 Piper Professor.

Each of the three Faculty Excellence Award recipients received an engraved plaque and a cash stipend.

Dr. Ashley Campbell, Helen Piehl Professor of Education, received the Instructional Excellence Award, Dr. Bonnie Roos, associate professor of English, the Intellectual Contributions Award, and Lorna Strong, instructor and head of the Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences, received the Professional Service Award.

Campbell is a four time recipient of the Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award. Students consistently give her high evaluations, praising her knowledge, organization and willingness to help them master the material in her courses. Campbell integrates meaningful technology into all of her classes, and her published articles and presentations all relate to her teaching fields of science and educational foundations. One nominator summed it up, writing, “Dr. Campbell is a shining example of what a role model and teacher in an educator preparation program should be.”

Roos, who joined the WTAMU faculty in 2005, keeps very busy. She is the author of seven articles, 10 book chapters, and co-edited a book. In addition to that, she has presented 18 papers at regional, national and international conferences, served as chair of 10 thesis committees and is the recipient of five grants. In 2012-2013, Roos traveled to Ireland for a NEH Summer Seminar on James Joyce, published two articles and four book chapters and gave two international presentations. She currently is working on two book manuscripts and one edited collection and will be a presenter in June at the Space Between International Conference in Chicago. One nominator described her as an “innovative, varied and accomplished scholar.”

Strong wears many hats as head of the Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences. She serves as the program director for the Athletic Training Education Program and oversees its accreditation efforts. She also served on seven department, college and university committees this year and as faculty adviser to a student organization. Strong also was active in raising funds for the Ryan Strong Memorial Scholarship and gave time to community and professional service too., She was named the Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer by the Southwest Athletic Trainers’ Association and by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association. A nominator wrote that Strong works “with professionalism, excellence, competence, humility and a servant’s heart.”

Dr. Bruce Brasington, Regents Professor of history, was recognized as one of 10 from across the state named as a 2013 Piper Professor. He is WTAMU’s seventh faculty member honored as a Piper Professor and the first since 2001. Dr. Debbie Davenport, associate professor of nursing, was recognized as a Carnegie U.S. Professor of the Year nominee.

Thirteen faculty members were recognized for tenure and promotion, effective Sept. 1. The faculty members include:
• Dr. Gary Barbee, associate professor of environmental science;
• Dr. Carolyn Bouma, associate professor of biology;
• Dr. Benjamin Brooks, associate professor of music;
• Dr. Matthew Jackson, associate professor of mechanical engineering;
• Dr. Andrew Li, associate professor of management;
• Dr. Melody Loya, associate professor of social work;
• Dr. Choong-ha Nam, associate professor of music;
• Dr. Bin Shao, associate professor of decision management;
• Dr. Shiquan Tao, associate professor of chemistry;
• Dr. Barbara Wang, associate professor of finance;
• Dr. Emily Hunt, professor of mechanical engineering;
• Dr. Alex Hunt, professor of English; and
• Dr. Marty Kuhlman, professor of history.

Two retiring faculty members—Jim Rutledge and Flo Jemes—also were recognized.


Post a Comment