All students are held to the publish rules and procedures printed in the Code of Student Life, specifically item 2, in Students' Responsibilities, "Students have the responsibility to be fully acquainted with the published University rules and procedures and to comply with them and the laws of the land." In addition, students who have agreed to the Student Financial Responsibilities agreement on View Account and Make Payments in Buff Advisor will be held to the terms of which they have agreed. This agreement can be accessed by clicking on the grey Agreements tab on this link.
Questions Regarding University Billing
Will you mail a bill to my home address?
No. West Texas A&M University does not mail any billing statements. Students must login to Buff Advisor using the My Buff Portal link on the WT home page, and click on View Accounts and Make Payments, then in the YELLOW ALERT BAR, click the blue link, then click the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button.
What charges appear on my university balance?
All students are charged mandatory tuition and fees, which are explained in detail on the tuition and fees page, as well as additional fees such as payment plan fees and late fees. Students who have signed a contract with Residential Living will see housing and meal plan charges included in the university balance as well.
Where can I find an estimation on the cost of attendance?
Full information can be found on the cost of attendance page. You will need to know your residency status, classification when entering WTAMU, when you will begin courses and what your declared major would be to use the page effectively. We cannot give a general cost per hour due to the various ways WTAMU students are billed based on the factors listed above, as well as the option for undergraduate student to opt in or out of guaranteed tuition. Please read through this page for full disclosure.
What are all of the fees listed on my bill? Do I have to pay them?
Full information of each fee type can be found on the tuition and fees page. All fees are mandatory for all WTAMU students.
Why do I owe a balance after I paid my account in full?
The most common reason a student owes a balance after their account shows to be paid in full is students adding a class after their account is paid. Classes can be added by the students themselves, or by being added to a class which they are wait listed. Another common cause is students/parents paying their bill in full before their housing or meal plan charges have been applied, as well as students changing their housing building, room type or meal plan after their balance is paid in full. We strongly encourage students to check their account regularly and often throughout the semester even when they believe their account is paid in full.
Please note: The Office of Residential Living lists housing requirements for students under the age of 21 years, and students who have completed less that 60 hours post high school, (dual credit courses do not satisfy the 60 hour rule). Students may file for exemption, however, if they are not approved and do not live in on campus housing, they must pay a housing expense, listed on the student's university bill as an M800-Housing Exemption Pending Charge. For more information, see The Office of Residential Living.
Can my family members or a spouse call and get information on my account?
Not without a signed waiver by the student. Due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, West Texas A&M University is required to protect student's information regardless of relation to caller, as listed on The Office of the Registrar FERPA webpage. Students may grant the Business Office permission to give information to specific persons by granting parent permission and access on Buff Advisor. Step by step instructions are found on The Office of the Registrar's Registrar Services website. All questions pertaining to set up and access should be directed to The Office of the Registrar, 806-651-4911.
What if I do not pay all of my balance due by the due date?
Students that do not have at least 25% of their total charges paid by the first payment deadline for Fall and Spring, or 100% of their charges paid by the payment deadline for Summer and Intersession semesters, or have not submitted and been approved for an emergency tuition and fee loan, the student's account will have a $100 late fee added to their total charges.
As of Fall 2016- failure to make payment on the account will not result in automatic deletion of schedule. Students that choose not to attend must file a withdrawal with the Office of the Registrar either in person, or using the web form, and will be held to balances due based on the State of Texas withdrawal rates.
Students that do not have their balance paid in full by the final payment deadline will have an immediate account balance hold. This hold will prevent the student from registering for courses, as well as accessing transcripts and diplomas. Accounts that are more than five months overdue will be turned over to collections, and all additional collection fees will be the responsibility of the student as well as the University balance owed, State Law (Texas Education Code, Sec 54.007).
What is a repeat course tuition and how much is it?
Students are charged a fee for any course attempted for a third or subsequent time other than a non-degree credit developmental course. The repeat course tuition rate is $106 per semester credit hour. For further information on how repeat courses effect the student please see the Office of the Registrar Policy page.
What is a 30/45 hour rule?
Under Texas Education Code 61.0595, undergraduate students who exceed 30 hours, who has been enrolled for ten or more years, or 45 hours if first enrolled in or after 2006, for their degree program(s), including students with minors and double majors, are assessed additional statutory tuition. Texas residents will be billed at the non-resident statutory tuition rate for their guarantee as per the Cost of Attendance webpage, (for example a 2016/2017 Texas resident would increase from $50 to $458 per semester credit hour). Border county, border state, and non-resident out of state students will lose their Tech.54.0601 waiver, and will be billed as an international student, (for example a 2016/2017 out of state student would increase from $80 to $458 per semester credit hour). Please see the Office of the Registrar Policy page for detailed information.
Return to Top
Questions Regarding Payment on University Balance
Please see our Payment Methods and Deadlines webpage for information not found in this section of the FAQ.
When is the payment deadline?
You can find the payment deadlines on Payment Methods and Deadlines and the Registrar's calendar. Students can also see their payment deadlines by logging into Buff Advisor, clicking on View Account and Make Payments, then clicking on the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR near the top of the page. Students can then click on either the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button, or the PAYMENT PLANS tab in the grey tabs below the WTAMU flame.
How much do I have to pay for the payment deadline?
For fall and spring semesters, a minimum payment of one-fourth, (25%) of tuition and fees, housing and meal plan and a payment plan submitted on Buff Advisor. Students must submit the payment plan BEFORE making their initial payment. If a payment plan is submitted after a payment is made, the system could still show a payment due on the payment deadline.
For January and May Intersessions and Summer 1 and Summer 2 terms, balance must be paid in full by the payment deadline.
Caution! Students adding classes after an initial payment is made must maintain full payment for intersessions and summer terms and at least one-fourth payment of tuition/fees for fall/spring terms.
For further information, please see the Payment Methods and Deadlines page.
Will my schedule be charged a late fee if my payment is postmarked on the payment deadline?
Yes. Payments must be posted to the account, (showing on View Account and Make Payments with a receipt number), by the payment deadline.
Can I pay my tuition/fees in installments during the summer or intersession?
No. The payment plan is NOT available for intersessions and summer terms. Tuition and fees must be paid in full either by personal payment or by applying for and being approved for a 45 day emergency loan. Check Buff Advisor for information about short term tuition and fee loans using the emergency loan link.
When are late payment plan fees assessed?
Any schedule that does not meet the payment deadline requirement for the first payment deadline will be charged a $100 late fee. In addition, one-time $15 late payment fee is assessed for late payment on the payment plan for each payment deadline missed during the fall and spring semesters.
When will I have a hold put on my account for non-payment?
For fall and spring semesters, students that are not current after the third payment deadline will receive an account hold which will prevent them from registering for future semesters and accessing transcripts. Holds are put on again after the fourth and final payment deadline on all accounts that are not paid in full by the deadline.
What can I do if my financial aid is not available by the due date?
All students must have their federal aid and scholarships disbursed, (not anticipated), and/or external loans posted as a payment on the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button on the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR of View Account and Make Payments on Buff Advisor for their first payment deadline. Aid cannot be transmitted until beginning 10 days before classes begin for fall, spring, summer 1 and summer 2 semesters, (aid is not available for intersession semesters).
If a student's aid will not be disbursed by the deadline due to delay such as verification or error in filing tax return or filling out their FAFSA, they may apply for a short term emergency tuition and fee loan on Buff Advisor, using the emergency loan link. To be eligible, student must not have any account holds, they must not owe for any previous loans, and they must have a social security number on file in the Registrar's Office.
Emergency tuition and fee loans are due in full within 90 days for fall and spring, and 45 days for summer and intersession semesters of being applied to the student's account as a payment. Emergency loans that are not paid in full within the life of the loan will be turned over to collections, and all additional collection fees will be the responsibility of the student in addition to the principle and accrued interest due on the emergency loan balance.
Can I make a payment on the web?
Yes! On View Account and Make Payments, click the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR near the top of the page, then click the green MAKE A PAYMENT button. You can make a payment using any of the following methods:
Do I have to enter my payment information every time I want to make a payment?
No! Beginning Winter Intersession 2017, students and parents can choose to have the system save their payment information, which will make future payments much easier to do! To save the information, check the box at the bottom of the page where payment information is entered. It's very easy!
Can I schedule payments for the Fall and Spring semester to be done automatically so I can avoid late fees?
Yes! Once your Fall or Spring semester balance is set up on a payment plan, you can schedule future payments to be taken from any saved payment method so you don't miss a deadline. In addition, these scheduled payments can be canceled or changed any time before the date of the scheduled payment.
Can anyone pay on my account?
Yes! Persons paying on student accounts must have student's University id number and semester that payment is to be made to, so that payment is made to the correct student account and semester. Checks used for payment to a student's account are the responsibility of the student. If a check is returned, the student will receive an account hold until the check amount and return fee are paid to the Business Office.
What happens if my check is returned for insufficient funds, stopped payment, or closed account?
All returned check writers will be notified that their check has been returned with instructions on how to settle the returned check. Returned checks must be paid in cash, money order, or cashier's check only. A service fee of $30 per check is also assessed. If the returned check was made for payment to a student's account balance, the student will have an immediate account hold until the return check and service fee are paid. Failure to pay the returned check amount within the time given in their letter will be referred for criminal prosecution to the District Attorney's office for Randall County.
Questions Regarding Financial Aid, Scholarships and University Balance
How can I tell if my financial aid has been applied to my university balance?
Aid cannot be disbursed to student accounts until beginning 10 days before classes begin for fall, spring and summer semesters, (intersession semesters are ineligible for federal aid and scholarships). Students must login to Buff Advisor and click on View Account and Make Payments, then click the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR. Next the student must click the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button.
On this screen, students can see expected aid in the top half of the screen. Disbursed aid shows on the Financial Aid section of the lower half of the screen.
Students must manage their financial aid using the Accept/Reject My Awards link in Buff Advisor. This link lists required steps to complete financial aid application as well as accepting and rejecting approved financial aid awards. Further information is found on the Financial Aid web page.
Where can I find out if I am getting a refund from my financial aid?
All students can see an itemized statement for every semester that they register for classes including, billing, disbursement of financial aid, scholarships, and other payments, as well as refunds of credit. To do so, the student must login to Buff Advisor and click on the View Account and Make Payments, then by clicking the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR. Next, the student will click the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button.
To expedite refunds, we strongly encourage all students to set up direct deposit by using Bank Information US on Buff Advisor. Refunds will be sent electronically to the student's bank, which can be 3 to 5 days faster than receiving a paper check through the mail. Student will be notified through their student (Buff) email that the funds have been released to their bank.
Why isn't my scholarship showing on my account?
Both internal and external scholarships are managed through the Scholarship Services office. Each scholarship has specific guidelines regarding how it must be accepted and applied to the student's account. Scholarship Services utilizes the student's Buff email account to communicate with them regarding scholarships awarded. Scholarship Services may be reached at 806-651-3330.
Are financial aid and scholarships applied to intersession semesters to meet payment deadline requirements?
No. Intersession semesters must be paid in full with either a personal payment or approved emergency loan application using the emergency loan link on Buff Advisor. Financial aid and scholarships awarded are posted to the semester following the intersession even if the student is not enrolled for the following semester. Students with a credit balance for the semesters following intersession will be refunded the amount of their credit balance once that semester has begun.
Will a thesis/dissertation waiver hold my schedule?
No! All accounts, regardless of registration type, are required to meet the payment deadlines found on the Registrar's academic calendar.
I'm a Hazlewood student. Do I have to make a payment?
Yes. A Hazlewood waiver is a registration type, not a payment. The waiver does not protect the student's schedule from deletion and the student is responsible for the Student Services fee which is not waived with the Hazlewood waiver.
Return to Top
When will I get my refund from my grants, direct subsidized loan, unsubsidized loan, and/or internal scholarship(s)?
In order for a student to get a refund, they must first see a credit balance due to disbursed aid showing on the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR on the View Account and Make Payments link in Buff Advisor. Once a credit balance is generated, regardless of funding source, it must be reviewed by Financial Aid, Student Account Billing, and Emergency Loan Coordinator before it can be vouchered and refunded to the student. Refunds cannot begin to be released until the first class day for each semester.
The timeline for the release of the refund depends heavily on what day the credit balance was generated and what letter the student’s last name begins with.
Actions that will delay a refund include:
We anticipate, but cannot promise, all credit balances due to disbursed federal aid and scholarships will be released during the first seven working days after classes begin. Any student that is set up for direct deposit will receive their refund of credit 3 to 5 days faster than a student that has not set themselves up for direct deposit.
After this time, the refund time is one to three business days from the day the credit balance was created for federal aid, and possibly longer for sponsored billing and scholarships.
Students with a credit balance the Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday for semesters that are awarded federal aid of the week before classes begin do not have to wait for to their refund of credit to purchase books. These students may request a book voucher. See the BOOKS section for further information.
Students that are sponsored billing, military sponsorship such as Chapter 31/33, ACE or student athletes have extra criteria through NCAA requirement will have a delay their refund. See below for further explanation.
What's the fastest way to get my refund?
Students are strongly encouraged to set themselves up for direct deposit on the Bank Information US link in Buff Advisor. This is a one-time set up that allows the Accounting and Business Office to send all refunds directly to the student's bank, rather than generating a paper check that must be put in the mail.
Problems that are avoided when a student sets themselves up for direct deposit include:
When will I get my refund from my external loan?
All external loans are sent to the University electronically by the loaning banks. Students are not required to come in and sign their checks.
Students that do not get their loan information submitted and approved in a timely manner may be charged a $100 late fee for missing the first payment deadline, and/or will have a delayed refund of credit if their loan is not received by the University before the payment deadline.
When will I get my refund for my external scholarship(s)?
External scholarships must be received by Scholarship Services, who must report the scholarship in conjunction with the Financial Aid Office. Once this process is complete, the scholarship check will be brought to the Business Office. If the check is made out to WT, the check will be applied to the student account as soon as possible. If the check is made out to the student, the student will be contacted to come in and sign the check over. Distance students will have the check mailed to them for signature, then they must mail it back to our office.
Students that do not come to sign their checks in a timely manner may be charged a $100 late fee for missing the payment deadline, and/or will have a delayed refund of credit. Please be sure that phone numbers are current with The Office of the Registrar so that we can reach you.
I’m a sponsored billing student, when will I get my refund?
Students attending WT through sponsored billing will not receive their refunds in the first seven days of the semester because they require extra review by the Bursar to be sure that the student is not receiving a refund they are not permitted to have from their sponsored billing. Each sponsored billing agency has rules specific to their payment of student bills that must be strictly adhered to or the student is at risk for losing their sponsorship.
I’m an ACE student, when will I get my refund?
ACE students do not have their ACE sponsorship applied until after the semester census date, (12th class day for fall and spring, 4th class day for summer 1 and 2). ACE students are permitted to charge their books to their university balance at the University Book Store. The refund process is begun after the 13th class day in the long semester, 5th class day in the summer semesters.
I’m a student athlete, when will I get my refund?
NCAA regulation requires that refunds be reviewed by the NCAA Compliance Coordinator after the census date for the semester. This process begins on the 13th class day, and can take a few days due to the steps required for review. Student athletes with a credit balance may request a book voucher. Please see the BOOKS section.
I dropped a class before the census date, or had my housing and/or meal charges removed from my bill after I paid my bill, when will I get my refund?
Changes to billing that result in a credit balance are a registration based refund. Because students can continue to change their bill through the census date, we cannot release these credits prior to the census date. If the account was paid in full with a card online, the credit will be applied back to the card, otherwise the refund will be sent by e-check if the student has set themselves up for direct deposit, (Bank Information US on Buff Advisor), or by paper check if they have not taken this step.
Questions Regarding Books
Are books included in the cost of attendance estimation?
No. Book costs are not projected by the Business Office because they vary greatly depending on class type, hours enrolled, and text requirements for each course the student enrolls in each semester.
How do I order my books?
You may order your books through the University Bookstore website. You will build your schedule and order your books on the Textbooks tab. Books may be purchased or rented through the University Bookstore website.
Can I charge my books to my university balance?
No. At this time, WTAMU does not have a way for students to charge their books to their university balance unless they are an ACE sponsored student. Students should plan to purchase their books independently from their university balance. Please note that refunds of credit can take more than a week to be disbursed to students, therefore we recommend that students who anticipate using their credit balance to purchase books utilize the book voucher option. For further information, please see below.
Can I use my financial aid and scholarship credit balance to purchase my books?
Yes, eligible students may request part of their credit balance, (up to $600.00), be moved to their Buff Gold Card as a book voucher. Book voucher funds cannot be disbursed to students in any other way than to be put on their Buff Gold Card. Please note that students with an account hold are ineligible for a book voucher until their hold(s) is/are removed.
How much can I request for a book voucher?
Depending on the student's credit balance amount, students can request a maximum of $600.00 for each book voucher. Students with a credit balance amount less than $600.00 may request their total balance in a book voucher.
When can I get a book voucher?
Book vouchers are available the Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday by 4 p.m. of the week before classes begin for fall and spring, and Monday and Tuesday by 4 p.m. of the week before classes begin for summer 1 and summer 2. Book vouchers are not available for Intersession semesters because financial aid and scholarships cannot be posted to these semesters.
Only students with a credit balance showing due to disbursed aid are eligible for book vouchers.
Book Voucher Dates:
Fall 2016- Monday, August 22 through Wednesday, August 24 at 4pm
Spring 2017- Monday, January 9 through Wednesday, January 11 at 4pm
Summer 1 2017- Tuesday, May 30 and Wednesday, May 31 at 4pm, (Monday, May 29 the University is closed in observance of Memorial Day)
Summer 2 2017- Monday, July 3 and Wednesday, July 5 at 4pm, (Tuesday, July 4 the University is closed in observance of Independence Day)
Book vouchers are not available for intersession semesters.
How do I get a book voucher?
Caution! Book Vouchers are only appropriate for online students if they choose to order their books through the University Bookstore. If on online student intends to purchase their books through a different method, they will not be able to utilize a book voucher.
To help our online students, the Business Office works to get out refunds of credit as quickly as possible, beginning the first class day. To expedite refunds, we encourage all students to use the Bank Information US link on Buff Advisor to receive their refunds electronically and directly to their bank. These refunds can come 3 to 5 days faster than a paper check going through the United States Postal Service.
How do I get my books if I don't have a credit balance available for a book voucher?
You may apply for an emergency book loan if you meet eligibility requirements listed below. Emergency book loans are open on the web beginning the Monday of the week before classes begin for Fall, Spring, Summer 1 and Summer 2 and close at 4 p.m. on the following regular payment deadline date. Students that want to apply for a book loan for Intersession semesters must come to the Business Office to fill out an emergency book loan application by the fourth class day of the semester.
To be eligible for an emergency book loan, students must:
To apply for an emergency book loan, students will click on the Emergency Loan link on Buff Advisor and follow the screens to the final screen to receive a confirmation number. If the student did not get a confirmation number, they did not complete the application process. Students may only apply for an emergency book loan one time each semester.
All applicants will receive an email to their Buff Email account 24 to 48 working hours after applying giving the status of their loan application. Students will use the Buff Gold Card link in My Buff Portal to check their card account balance for distribution of book loan funds.
How much can I request for an emergency book loan?
The maximum amount a student may request for a book loan is $600.00 for Fall and Spring, $300.00 for Summer 1 and Summer 2, and $200.00 for Intersession.
Will financial aid repay my emergency book loan?
There is never a guarantee that the student will be awarded enough financial aid to pay their emergency book loan. Financial aid and scholarships must pay the student's university balance in full first. Any funds left over after this balance is paid in full will be applied to the emergency book loan balance on the student's behalf. If the funds do not materialize, or are not enough to pay the emergency loan in full, the student will be held responsible for repayment of the emergency book loan.
What will happen if I don't repay my emergency book loan within the required amount of time?
The student will have a student account hold that will prevent students from registering for future semesters, as well as accessing transcripts and diplomas. Emergency book loans are due in full within 90 days for Fall and Spring, and 45 days for Summer and Intersession semesters of being applied to the student's Buff Gold Card. Emergency loans that are not paid in full within the life of the loan will be turned over to collections, and all additional collection fees will be the responsibility of the student in addition to the principle and accrued interest due on the emergency loan balance.
Can I see my emergency book loan on Buff Advisor?
No. The emergency book loan is not associated with tuition and fees and is not visible on Buff Advisor. To view the emergency loan, the student must use the Buff Gold Card link in My Buff Portal, or use the student access from the Buff Gold Student Account webpage.
Questions Regarding Sponsored Billing
Does the Hazlewood Act cover full tuition/fees?
No. The Hazlewood Act is a waiver that covers all fees charged at WTAMU with the exception of the mandatory student services fee. Hazlewood students must have their student service fee paid by the payment deadlines found on the Registrar's calendar or risk having their scheduled deleted for non-payment. Hazlewood students must be registered with WTAMU Veteran's Services office in order to be eligible for Hazlewood benefits. Veterans Services will assist you with any questions you have both for billing and for success as a WTAMU student. Veterans Services can be reached at 806-651-4936. You may also email Leo Reid.
How do I use my Military Tuition Assistance/Chapter 31 (Vocational Rehabilitation)/Chapter 33 (Post 9/11)?
You must notify the Admissions Office, 806-651-2020, once you have been approved through the VA, and submit your documentation to the Business Office prior to the payment deadline. The West Texas A&M Veterans Services Office requires that you register with their office because they must submit documentation to the VA on your behalf. Veterans Services will assist you with any questions you have both for billing and for success as a WTAMU student. Veterans Services can be reached at 806-651-4936. You may also email Leo Reid.
I have the Chapter 33, Montgomery GI bill. How does this work and will I avoid late fees while I wait to receive that payment?
The Montgomery GI bill makes payment directly to the veteran, and is therefore not considered sponsored billing. WTAMU has no way of knowing that the student will receive the payment, therefore we must hold these students to the payment deadline requirements that we hold all non-sponsored billing students to. If they student does not receive these funds before the payment deadline, they will need to apply for an emergency loan and have it applied in time, make a payment out of pocket, or have federal aid disbursed to avoid late fees for each payment deadline.
I have tuition assistance, why do I still owe a balance?
Some military tuition assistance maxes out at $750.00 per semester, so any balance over this amount is the responsibility of the student. All military tuition assistance funds are calculated only based on what the student has been billed for mandatory tuition and fees. Additional fees such as payment plan fees, late fees, housing and meal plans are not covered by tuition assistance. Please be advised: If a military tuition assistance student chooses to withdraw for the semester, ALL of their assistance will be reversed from their account for not completing the semester, and the student will owe WTAMU for that semester.
We strongly encourage students to check their benefits regularly as they can run out before the student has completed their studies. Our office cannot check these benefits for the students, and if they run out we have to back off the credit from the student's account which happens when we are notified which can take two months to a year, after the credit is posted to the student account.
I'm an A.C.E. student. How does this effect me?
A.C.E. students are permitted to bill their books to their University balance at the University Bookstore. Please talk to Connie Bradford with the A.C.E. program for more details. These students will also not see their sponsored billing payments applied until after the 12th class day for fall and spring, and 4th class day for summer semesters. Because the sponsorship payment is applied later in the semester, the student's refund of credit, if any, will not be released within the first few weeks of school because A.C.E. covers the remaining balance of mandatory tuition and fees after all grant monies have been applied. All funds must be reviewed for compliance with Student Financial Aid and the University Bursar.
How do I pay my bill with Texas Guaranteed Tuition Plan?
Students on this plan must bring their account card to the Business Office where a copy is made for our files. Every semester, the student must call or come to our office to request that this plan be applied to their University Balance. We are not permitted to use the account without a specific semester by the account holder.
Does sponsored billing pay all of my university balance?
There is never a guarantee that your bill will be paid in full with sponsored billing. Each type of sponsored billing has limits set forth by the agency that provides the sponsorship. We strongly encourage students to check their account through Buff Advisor by clicking on View Account and Make Payments, then clicking on the blue link in the YELLOW ALERT BAR, and then clicking the green VIEW ACCOUNT ACTIVITY button.
My employer reimburses me for my university billing. Can WTAMU mail my employer a statement?
No. We are not permitted to mail any billing statements. Students can print an itemized statement to submit to their employer by logging into Buff Advisor, then clicking on View Account and Make Payments, then clicking Account Activity. The view statement button is located near the top of the page which takes the student to the screen where the statement can be printed.
My bill was paid in full by sponsored billing, but now it shows I owe a balance. Why do I owe?
Sponsored billing agencies are billed the full amount of the student account, which will show the account as paid in full. If the sponsored billing agency determines that they will not cover the total charges, WTAMU must back off the amount of the payment not paid by the sponsored billing agency. We strongly encourage sponsored billing students to check their account regularly and often throughout the semester for changes to their account. Texas Guaranteed Tuition and Texas Tomorrow students must keep track of their account balance as we often have students run out of benefits before they have completed their degree with WTAMU.
Return to Top
Questions Regarding Online Course Work
Are there additional fees added to online courses?
No. Online courses are billed at the same rate as on-campus courses.
I'm an online student. Do I have to pay all of the fees even if I am not going to be on campus?
Yes. All students must pay all fees set by the Board of Regents for West Texas A&M University.
Questions Regarding Dropping a Course and Withdrawing
BEFORE A STUDENT DROPS A CLASS OR WITHDRAWS FROM THE SEMESTER, THE ACCOUNTING AND BUSINESS OFFICE STRONGLY ENCOURAGES STUDENTS TO CALL THE FOLLOWING OFFICES:
What is the difference between dropping and withdrawing?
'Dropping' refers to deleting a class from a remaining schedule that will be completed for the semester. 'Withdrawing' refers to deleting all classes and not completing the semester. Students may drop courses on Buff Advisor, but are strongly encouraged to fill out a Withdrawal form in the Registrar's Office to complete the withdrawal process. Students that are registered for more than one semester, and have only one class for each semester can drop the single class online, which is actually a withdrawal. Because the system software does not recognize a drop as a withdrawal, potential refunds may be delayed due to lack of proper notification with the Registrar's Office. Students are strongly encouraged to file a withdrawal if they are enrolled in one course and drop it online.
Example: A student is registered for one class for Summer 1 and 5 classes for Fall. The student can drop their Summer 1 class online because the system still sees the student enrolled in other classes. However, because the student was enrolled in only one class for Summer 1, this is actually a withdrawal for that semester. The student did not notify the Office of the Registrar, so withdrawal paperwork is not generated and the student’s refund is not processed until the student contacts the Office of the Registrar regarding their withdrawal.
Will I owe a balance if I drop a class during the semester?
If you drop a class, but continue to be enrolled in other classes, you will have 100% of your charges for the dropped class removed from your bill only if you drop by the semester census date:
If you drop your class after the semester census date, you will owe all of the charges for your dropped class as per the drop/withdrawal policy through the Registrar's Office, which is also found on the tuition and fees refund policy page.
Will I owe a balance if I withdraw from the semester?
If you withdraw from the university for the semester, you may or may not owe a balance depending on the date you file your withdrawal in the Registrar's Office. Withdrawal rates are on a specific time line for each semester as per the drop/withdrawal policy through the Registrar's Office, which is also found on the tuition and fees refund policy page.
Why would a student owe a balance after they withdrew from classes if their account was paid in full when they withdrew?
Federal aid, sponsored billing and scholarships all have enrollment requirements. If a student does not stay enrolled for a semester, they are not eligible to keep all of their awarded funds, and WTAMU is required to return the funds to the agency that provided them. The student will then owe WTAMU for the balance no longer covered by awarded funds. For further information, please review your entrance counseling for federal aid, your sponsored billing agency for information, or the agency that awarded you scholarship funds for enrollment requirements.
How are students notified if they owe a balance after withdrawing?
The Accounting and Business Office will send a letter of notice if a balance is owed after a student withdraws to their preferred mailing address. The letter will notify the student of the balance they owe and that they have a hold on their account which will prevent them from registering for future semesters or accessing transcripts until the balance is paid in full. The second page of the letter is an optional repayment plan that will allow the balance due to be paid in prescribed monthly payments for up to 12 months.
What happens to my payment plan for a Fall or Spring semester if I withdraw? Can I still use that payment plan?
Once a student withdraws, their payment plans submitted through Buff Advisor are no longer valid, and will be cancelled. The student will then see any balance due as overdue with the date of the first payment deadline and an account hold will be put on the student until this balance is paid in full. The payment plan is cancelled for two reasons: We do not want to continue to call and email a student to remind them of payment deadlines if they are not attending classes, and we do not want to give them late fees for missed payment deadlines.
Return to Top
What does it mean to audit a class?
With the instructor's approval, an individual may sit in on a class and participate in class discussion at the discretion of the instructor. The individual does not submit course work or participate in exams. The course does not appear on the transcript and the individual does not get course credit.
Who can audit a class?
Individuals must be at least 19 years old or possess a high school diploma. Acceptance and enrollment at WTAMU is not required to audit a class. Auditing a class does not meet the admission standard for WTAMU.
What is the cost to audit a class?
The cost to audit a class is $20 per semester credit hour. Individuals 65 years of age and older may audit a course free of charge with instructor approval.
What is the procedure to audit a class?
The individual must pick up an Audit Approval Form from the cashier window at the Accounting and Business Office in Old Main 104, Monday-Friday between 9am and 4pm. Individual must get instructor's and department head signature's of approval. Once this portion of the form is complete, the student will return to the Accounting and Business Office cashier window to submit the form and pay the audit fee. Audit fee must be paid all at one time.
Return to Top
Questions Regarding Enrollment and Taxes
Are there taxes/tax benefits for US students enrolled at WTAMU?
Yes! All resident, (US citizen) students are issued a 1098-T for the calendar year of January 1 through December 31 for all tuition and fees billed, (housing and meal plans are not taxable/tax deductible) and total scholarships awarded for the year. The 1098-T will not list payments made on the student account. Payments are found on the statement for each semester accessible on Buff Advisor by clicking on View Account and Make Payments.
1098-T's will be available to students by January 31 of each year. We strongly encourage students to set up to receive their 1098-T's electronically by using the 1098 Electronic Consent link on Buff Advisor. If a student is not set up to receive their 1098-T through Buff Advisor, we will mail their forms to the preferred mailing address on file with the Registrar's Office. Mailed forms can take several weeks to reach the student.
How do I use my 1098-T? Some of the boxes are blank!
Full information on 1098-T requirements and uses are found on the 1098-T Help form.
Are there taxes/tax benefits for International students enrolled at WTAMU?
All non-resident students, (citizens of other countries), are issued at 1042-S for the calendar year of January 1 through December 31 for all tuition and fees billed, (housing and meal plans are not taxable/tax deductible) and taxed scholarship amounts, (amounts that exceed the amount billed for required tuition and fees). 1042-S's are only available to the students electronically and are accessed by logging into their GLACIER account. The student must set up their GLACIER account within the first few weeks of being on campus. Non-resident students can file their US tax returns using GLACIER TAX PREP, which is provided in the International Student Office.
International students of countries with tax treaty benefits may file for exemption using a W-8 BEN in our office only after they have been assigned a social security number. These students will still receive a 1042-S and must file a tax return to complete treaty benefits.
I'm an international student, but I didn't get a 1098-T. How do I get it?
International students that pass the substantial presence test can use either a 1098-T or a 1042-S. 1042-S forms are generated through their GLACIER account. If these students prefer to use a 1098-T, they must request the form from the Business Office and our tax accountant will generate a form for them.
For more information on both resident and international student tax questions, contact Don Adams, 806-651-3351.
Return to Top