West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Office Of Writing Programs Faculty

Office of Writing Programs


Dr. Valerie Dennis

Mr. Richard Dillingham joined the WTAMU faculty in 2008 as a part-time instructor of English. He holds a B.A. degree in English and a M.A. degree in English both from the University of Georgia. He also completed graduate work beyond the Master of Arts degree at the University of Georgia. Before coming to WTAMU, he was Associate Professor of English at Wayland Baptist University. He also taught English and technical writing courses and worked as a technical writer/research associate at Texas Tech University. While at Texas Tech University, he edited over 85 papers that were published in scholarly journals and conference proceedings. He received an outstanding professor award while employed at Texas Tech University and was elected to membership in the Sachems Society at Texas Tech University.
Dr. Jeff Doty

Ms. RayLene Dysert
Dr. David Hart
Dr. Monica Hart

Mr. David Horsley
Dr. Alex Hunt
Mr. Daniel Klaehn joined WTAMU as a part-time instructor in 2010.  He holds a B.A. in English (2000) and a M.A. in English (2010) from West Texas A&M University.  In Fall of 2012, he was hired as a full-time instructor.  Mr. Klaehn teaches Technical Writing courses as well as freshman writing.  Mr. Klaehn’s research interests include education reform, curriculum design and pedagogy, American Literature, and Comic Book literature.  He is also a member of Sigma Tau Delta. 
Ms. Sandra Kitten (M.A. West Texas A&M University) taught English in the Amarillo Independent School District as she earned a graduate degree at WTAMU. After several years with AISD, she then worked throughout Texas as a field representative for the American Federation of Teachers. In 2008, she returned to WTAMU as a part-time instructor. Sh teaches both English 1301 and Englih 1302.
Ms. Shannon Nolen (MA West Texas A&M University, 2011) joined the WTAMU faculty in 2011. She holds a BAAS in English Education from WTAMU. Ms. Nolen teaches courses in Integrated Reading and Writing and English Composition. Her research interests include Arthurian legend and mythology across genre, literary time periods, and movements, focusing on contemporary renderings of Arthur maintaining ancient literary and mythological strucutres. Ms. Nolen ia a member of Gamma Beta Phi and the National Society of Leaders at WTAMU.
Mr. Joshuah O'Brien

Ms. Casey Pleming

Mr. Greg Rohloff
joined WTAMU as a part-time instructor in 2011. He holds a B.A. from Wichita State University in journalism, and a Master of Liberal Studies with a concentration in English composition and literature from Fort Hays (Kansas) State University (2010). Mr. Rohloff teaches freshman composition. His research interests include contemporary literature, electronic platforms for self-publishing, and creative writing.   

Dr. Bonnie Roos

Ms. Lisa Rutledge (M.A., West Texas A&M University, 2008) joined the faculty in 2008 after serving for two years as a teaching assistant for the University’s freshman writing courses. During her graduate studies, she also served on the editorial staff of WTAMU’s creative arts Journal, The Legacy. Prior to completing her Masters, Ms. Rutledge completed a B.A. in mass communications with an emphasis in print media and a minor in English. She was inducted into the English Honor Society, Sigma Tau Delta, as an undergraduate. She sees creative writing as both a result of the circumstances in which a writer lives and a reflection of the circumstances in which the writer would like to live. In accordance with this philosophy about the nature of writing, Ms. Rutledge enjoys teaching freshman writing most when her students discover topics in which they have a personal stake. When students discover topics that matter to them, they can use the research and argumentation skills practiced in WT’s freshman writing courses to communicate effectively their unique perspectives for the benefit of the communities in which they find themselves.

Dr. Stephen Severn

Mrs. Theresa Trela

Dr. Pat Tyrer
Dr. Nicole Walls