West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Gender Studies Faculty and Affiliated Staff

Gender Studies Faculty and Affiliated Staff

WTAMU offers students an opportunity to study and explore topics of gender and women’s studies with faculty members from across the university. In these courses, students will examine the history of gender, contemporary conceptualizations of gender and women’s studies, and the ways in which gender operates and is understood in various disciplines. These courses will enable students to think critically about gender and sexuality and apply this knowledge in a variety of professional settings.

Art History

Photo of Amy Von Lintel

Dr. Amy Von Lintel – avonlintel@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of Art History and Director of the Gender Studies Certificate Program
Areas of interest: Women artists and art historians, gender as represented in art and visual culture, feminist theory
 

Business

Dr. Alison Berry – aberry@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of Business, Communication and Management

Dr. Andrew Li - ali@wtamu.edu
Associate Professor of Management
Areas of Interest: how gender impacts individuals' identification with their work and family roles and their ability to balance demands from different domains in life, and how gender identity impacts important work-life decisions


Communication

Dr. Kris Drumheller  Dr. Kris Drumheller – kdrumheller@wtamu.edu
  Interim Department Head, History and Associate Professor of Communication Studies

  Areas of interest in social identity construction particularly as it relates to organizational     
  communication and issues of work-life balance. Also of interest is the impact of identity in
  organizational crises or crises that occur with organizations directly related to issues impacting
  women and LGBTQIA communities (for example, Planned Parenthood & Susan G. Komen for the
  Cure).

 

 

 

 

Dr. Noah Franken – nfranken@wtamu.edu
Assistant Lecturer of Communication Studies
Areas of interest: interpersonal communication, identity, and family communication

Trudy Hanson

Dr. Trudy Hanson - thanson@wtamu.edu
Department Head and Professor of Communication Studies
Areas of interest: gender portrayal in popular media (particularly storytelling and in ABC’s Once Upon a Time), women and leadership, women leaders in higher education, women’s rhetoric, First Lady rhetoric (particularly that of Michelle Obama), gender and children’s toys

Dr. Jessica Mallard – jmallard@wtamu.edu
Dean, College of Fine Arts and Humanities and Professor of Communication Studies

Paula Schlegel – pschlegel@wtamu.edu
Instructor of Communication


Counseling and Education

Photograph of Leigh Green

Dr. Leigh Green – legreen@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of Education
Areas of interest: Student-Veteran transition to campus, women veterans, rape culture on college campuses, feminist theory in counseling, LGBTQIA studies

Dance

Leslie Williams - lewilliams@wtamu.edu
Associate Professor of Dance


English

Monica Hart

Dr. Monica Hart - mhart@wtamu.edu
Professor of English
Areas of interest:  feminist literary theory, British women writers, poetry, psychoanalytic theory, the Gothic

Dr. Daniel Helbert - dhelbert@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of English

Dr. Matthew Harrison - mharrison@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of English

Dr. Alex Hunt – ahunt@wtamu.edu
Professor of English, Philosophy, and Modern Lanugages

Dr. Eric Meljac - emeljac@wtamu.edu
Professor of English

Dr. Bonnie Roos – broos@wtamu.edu
Department Head of English, Philosophy and Modern Languages and Professor of English

Theresa Trela - ttrela@wtamu.edu
Instructor of English

Dr. Pat Tyrer – ptyrer@wtamu.edu
Professor of English

 

History

Dr. Matt Reardon – mreardon@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of History

Photograph of Dr. Jean Stuntz

Dr. Jean Stuntz – jstuntz@wtamu.edu
Professor of History and President of Faculty Senate
Areas of interest: women's history, legal status of women, the Spanish Empire in North America, Texas history, gender studies

 


Psychology

Dr. Maxine DeButte – mdebutte@wtamu.edu
Associate Professor of Psychology

Kenneth Denton – kdenton@wtamu.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology


Political Science and Criminal Justice

Dr. Keith Price – kprice@wtamu.edu
Department Head and Professor, Political Science and Criminal Justice; Psychology, Sociology and Social Work

 


Spanish

Dr. Andrew Reynolds - areynolds@wtamu.edu
Associate Professor of Spanish

 

Sociology

Dr. Lisa Garza – lgarza@wtamu.edu
Department Head of Psychology, Sociology and Social Work, Professor of Sociology

Dr. Jenifer Kunz – jkunz@wtamu.edu
Professor of Sociology


Theater

Anne Medlock-Ely - amedlock@wtamu.edu
Associate Professor of Theater

 

 


 

 

 
 West Texas A&M University Gender Studies Certificate Program Logo