West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Education Faculty

Department of Education

Faculty

Susan Dennis

Susan L. Allen

Director of PACE, Instructor of Education

"Working with alternative teacher certification is satisfying in that I help individuals transition from their current career into the teaching profession. For many, this fulfills a lifelong goal. In addition, I work with school districts to meet their staffing challenges and provide quality, caring and committed teachers for the students of the Texas Panhandle."

slallen@wtamu.edu
Susan L. Allen's Bio

Dr. Amy Andersen

Dr. Amy Andersen

Director of the Teaching Excellence Center,  Associate Professor of Education, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

"Students in my classes can expect to be challenged and to be involved.  Do not expect a lecture because I try to involve students in practical, hands-on experiences both in class and out.  To become a teacher, you need to see good teaching strategies modeled and then try them out yourself.  Be ready to be involved and try new things!"

aandersen@wtamu.edu
Dr. Andersen's Bio

 Gary Bigham

Dr. Gary Bigham

Associate Professor of Education

“My mission is to have an impact on young lives through their quality of education.  With 20 years experience as a teacher, principal and superintendent, I’ve been able to partially fulfill that mission.  At the university level, I instruct prospective principals and superintendents and conduct research in educational leadership. All advance my mission when considering students affected by administrators that complete our program.  This is a responsibility I do not take lightly!”

gbigham@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Bigham's Bio

Teri Bingham

Dr. Teri Bingham

Associate Professor of Education

"Students who want to be excellent teachers and make a difference in the lives of their students will learn best teaching practices, a variety of instructional strategies, effective communication techniques, and motivation tools.  I look forward to having you in class and getting to know you."

tbingham@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Bingham's Bio

Dr. Ashley J. Campbell

Dr. Ashley J. Campbell

Associate Professor of Education

"My students can expect to be prepared to teach hands-on, minds-on science for all children. They will explore teaching methods and strategies from selected topics in life science, physical science, earth science and space science guided by the most current research in science education."

acampbell@wtamu.edu
Dr. Campbell's Bio

Dr. Campbell's Personal Page

Yvette Castillo

Dr. Yvette Castillo

Associate Professor of Education

"Education is my passion in life and that energy is transferred into the classroom setting as I engage students in the process and practice of understanding dimensions of the human element. It is my goal to connect with students in such a way that they begin to embrace professional identity in the areas of ethics, advocacy, research and application naturally."

ycastillo@wtamu.edu
Dr. Castillo's Bio

Betty Coneway, Ph.D.

Dr. Betty Coneway

Assistant Professor of Education

The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be ignited." – Plutarch
As an educator, it is my goal to continually light that fire and inspire a passion for learning in all my students, no matter what age!

bconeway@wtamu.edu
Dr. Coneway's Bio

 Elsa Diego-Madrano

Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano

Assistant Professor of Education

emedrano@mail.wtamu.edu 
Elsa Diego-Medrano's Bio

 

 Angie Elkins

Dr. Angie Elkins

Assistant Professor of Education

"Some people come into our lives, leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never the same." -Franz Peter Schubert

aelkins@wtamu.edu 
Angie Elkins's Bio

 

 Beth Garcia

Dr. Beth Garcia

Assistant Professor of Education

“One hundred years from now, it won't matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in the bank, nor what my clothes looked like…BUT… the world may be a little better because, I was important in the life of a child.” –Forest Witcraft—

egarcia@wtamu.edu  
Beth Garcia's Bio

 Leigh Green

Dr. Leigh Green

Assistant Professor of Education

As an educator, I have a responsibility for the experiences that students have with the counseling profession. Therefore, I take responsibility for encouraging each student to explore his or her own counseling style while consistently ensuring multicultural and ethical competence. It is through my support, encouragement, and knowledge as the professor that students are shaped into dynamic counselors.

legreen@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Green's Bio

Tana Gunter

Tana Gunter

Instructor of Education

tgunter@wtamu.edu  
Tana Gunter's Bio

 Janet Hindman

Dr. Janet Hindman

Assistant Professor of Education

jhindman@wtamu.edu
Janet Hindman's Bio

 Crystal Hughes

Dr. Crystal Hughes

Assistant Professor of Education

Who dares to teach must never cease to learn.” – John Cotton Dana

chughes@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hughes' Bio

 Aaron Hunt

Aaron Hunt

Instructor of Education

"My heart is truly in helping create quality education for all students."

ashunt@wtamu.edu
Aaron Hunt's Bio

Dr. Sang K. Hwang

Dr. Sang K. Hwang

Associate Professor of Education

"I feel proud of myself when I receive my students' positive feedback and reflect it for better teaching. I have the privilege of working in a collaborative environment at WTAMU where it’s full of teachers' pride. My students appreciate practical ideas, how to teach students in a creative way and at the same time, enjoying quality literature."

shwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hwang's Bio

 Suzanne Monroe

Dr. Suzanne Monroe

Professor of Education

"The field of reading has been one of substantial change since 1985.  Formerly driven by behaviorism, the discipline is now characterized by many classroom practices based on socio-psycholinguistic research and theory.  The field of early literacy in particular has evolved from sociocultural studies in language and literacy and developmentally appropriate practices in early childhood. Qualitative studies in anthropology and American Indian studies have also inspired my continuing research agenda and my current teaching preferences."

smonroe@wtamu.edu
Dr. Monroe's Bio

Dr. Monroe's Personal Page

Susan Nix

Dr. Susan Nix

Associate Professor of Education

"The students enrolled in the Educational Leadership program at WTAMU make my life interesting and challenging. Through our interactions on campus and online, I experience a wide range of school environments and have the honor of facilitating the sharing of their unique experiences with each other."

snix@wtamu.edu
Dr. Nix's Bio

Dr. Mark Riney

Dr. Mark Riney

Associate Professor of Education

"Teaching is an important profession, and I am proud to be a teacher educator. WTAMU has and will continue to produce excellent teachers for Texas schools."

mriney@wtamu.edu
Dr. RIney's Bio

Rich Rose

Dr. Rich Rose

Associate Professor of Education

“Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I’ll spend the first four sharpening the axe.” - Abe Lincoln

rrose@mail.wtamu.edu   
Dr. Rose's Bio   
Dr. Rose's Personal Page

Dr. Conn Thomas

Dr. Conn Thomas

Professor of Education

"I enjoy teaching special education because it is such a dynamic and growing discipline."

cthomas@wtamu.edu
Dr. Thomas' Bio

Angela Spaulding

Dr. Angela Spaulding

Dean of Graduate School; Chief Research Officer; Professor of Educational Leadership

"I am committed to a pedagogy of experiential teaching and learning, academic research and inquiry, and service learning through technology-rich presentation. Students need a relevant education in order to thrive and be effective in their chosen profession.  As such, my classes have a strong theory to practice connection. I find tremendous satisfaction and enjoyment working with WTAMU students. I appreciate their scholarly insights and strong work ethic.."

aspaulding@wtamu.edu
Dr. Spaulding's Bio

 

Dr. Judy Williams

Assistant Professor, Department Head

"My mother and my father were illiterate immigrants from Russia. When I was a child they were constantly amazed that I could go to a building and take a book on any subject. They couldn't believe this access to knowledge we have here in America. They couldn't believe that it was free. "
~Kirk Douglas

jdwilliams@wtamu.edu
Judy Williams' Bio

 
   

 

Apply Now