West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Communication Success Stories

Department of Communication

Success Stories

The Department of Communication celebrated the grand re-opening of the News One Studio on April 25, 2017.  Students and faculty demonstrated the newly installed equipment and shared examples of student work.
WTAMU’s Forensic Team performed at the Amarillo Museum of art in March and competed at the International Forensics Association tournament in Lima, Peru.
Lambda Pi Eta (National Communication Honor Society) inducted 12 new members and sponsored the UK Debaters' visit to campus in October, 2016.  Three LPH members (Kelsey Knight, Kassidy Payne, and Ceyann Boone) presented their rhetorical analyses at the 2017 Undergraduate Honors Conference in Greenville, SC.
The award-winning One Sessions hosted the band Revancha Norteῇa in November, 2016 and gospel singer, Pastor Murray in March, 2017.
The first ever WT-student run PR firm, 1910 PR, was established during the spring semester.  The mission of the firm is to integrate professional communication skills, creativity and knowledge to provide solid foundations for clients in the Texas Panhandle.
Communication Week 2017 focused on telling our stories, hosting Distinguished Lecture Series, Eva Harder, writer and editor at America’s Promise Alliance.
Hopi/Tewa professional storyteller Eldrena Douma was the featured teller for the Spring 2017 WT Storytelling Festival, performing along six Communication graduate students.
The Electronic Media emphasis area brought home 7 Telly awards, competing with more than 12,000 entries from all 50 states and 5 continents.
Broadcast Journalism major Jonathan Espinoza was selected as WTAMU’s first ever recipient of the Harry S. Truman fellowship.
Advertising/Public Relations major Anissa Riojas was selected as an intern for the Multicultural Advertising Intern Program and worked full-time in a paid internship in project management at SapientRazorfish/New York.
Broadcasting Engineer Johnny Story and MCOM alum Ryan Hazelwood were winners of the Lone Star Emmy award for their film, “Blood & Steel.”
At the 2017 National Broadcasting Society convention, NBS received recognition for Model Chapter.  NBS President Tim Rivera was named the National Member of the year. Tran Nguyen has been elected to serve as an NBS Student Governor for 2017-2018.
KWTS, the campus radio station (91.1) brought home 10 awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting Conference in New York.
The Department of Communication hosted Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching scholar, Minjeong Chun for the fall and spring semesters.  Chun taught 3 courses in Korean language and culture.
MCOM Associate professor Emily Kinsky has been added to the Fulbright Specialist Program list and can be requested to serve short term project needs at academic institutions in more than 140 countries.
Communication Studies undergraduate Carlos Perez was selected as a McNair Scholar for 2017-2018.
Advertising/Public Relations majors and Broadcasting Electronic Media majors earned 3 Silver Addy awards and 2 Gold Addy awards in 2017.
Buffalo Advertising received the Special Judge’s Award for their “We Got You campaign for Tai Pei Asian Frozen Foods at the District 10 competition in Ft. Worth.
Communication Master student Myles Smith and Electronic Media major Shaina Dulakis were named WTAMU Man and Woman of the year at the 2017 Student Honors Banquet.
Virtual Reality researcher, Sarah Jones of Coventry University (England) was the featured Distinguished Lecture Series speaker in April, providing workshops, speaking to MCOM classes and allowing students to experience  her VR equipment.
For a full account of the many activities of the Department of Communication, read our Communication Magazine.