West Texas A&M University - Home
College of Education and Social Sciences Advisory Board

College of Education and Social Sciences

COESS Advisory Board

The College of Education and Social Sciences Advisory Board exists to provide the college with a competitive advantage by facilitating interaction with the education and social sciences community and the community-at-large in a variety of ways to help achieve the college’s mission. The Board’s role is to:
  • Offer the college an outside perspective on issues affecting education and the social sciences that may have educational or research implications or opportunities.
  • Communicate the needs and requirements of the education and social sciences community to ensure that our graduates develop the skills, knowledge, and personal attributes required for success.
  • Provide feedback on our degree and certificate programs as to their relevance to organizations of the future.
  • Serve as a sounding board for new initiatives, research projects, and external activities.
  • Provide assistance and advice on college strategy, specific aspects of the strategy execution, and any operational issues where the dean feels he or she could benefit from an outside perspective.
  • Be an ambassador for the college with the broader Amarillo and regional community, alumni, and other external constituents.
  • Aid the college where possible in recruiting students into degree and certificate programs as well as inplacing students upon graduation.
  • Assist the college with its financial development goals.

Advisory Board Members

Mrs. Barbara Bain, Retired Educator, Dimmitt, Texas

Chief Justice John T. Boyd, Retired Texas Court of Appeals, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. Gregg Bynum,
President and CEO, Education Credit Union, Amarillo, Texas

Mrs. Anette Carlisle, Social Entrepreneur at Panhandle Twenty/20, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. James Farren, Randall County District Attorney, Canyon, Texas

Mrs. Mary Beth Ford, Retired Educator, Amarillo, Texas

Mrs. Predenia Grantham, Educator, Hereford Independent School District, Hereford, Texas

Dr. W.M. Jones, Jr., Retired Psychiatrist, Amarillo, Texas

Dr. Jim Kidd, Professor Emeritus of Education, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. John Lemons, Retired Superintendent, Bushland Independent School District, Bushland, Texas

Mr. Tod Mayfield, Attorney, Mayfield, Crutcher & Sharpee, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. John Mozola, Attorney and Partner Mullin, Hoard & Brown, LLP, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. Jay O’Brien, Rancher & Petroleum Development, Amarillo, Texas

Mrs. Helen Piehl, CEO, Western Sales & Testing, Amarillo, Texas

Mr. Gary Pitner, Executive Director, Panhandle Regional Planning Commission, Amarillo, Texas

Mrs. Myrna Raffkind, Community Volunteer, Amarillo, Texas

Dr. K. Raju Ramakrishnan, Professor Emeritus of Social Work, Amarillo, Texas

Mrs. Janie Rivas, Hoffman, Sheffield, Sauseda, & Hoffman, Amarillo, TX

Mrs. Geneva Schaeffer, Investor and Philanthropist, Happy, Texas

Mr. Rod Schroder, Superintendent, Amarillo Independent School District, Amarillo, Texas

Rep. John T. Smithee, Attorney and Texas State Representative (District 86), Amarillo, Texas

Mr. Mike Wortes, Superintendent, Canyon Independent School District, Canyon, TX

Educator Preparation Program Advisory Council

Because the preparation of educators is a collaborative effort, WTAMU’s Alternative Certification Program Advisory Council includes representatives from public schools, regional education service centers, institutions of higher education, and business and community interests. These individuals provide input from their various perspectives to help our programs meet the needs of Panhandle communities and schools. The council assists in program development, implementation, evaluation, revision, and promotion with the ultimate commitment to the preparation of quality candidates who contribute to the success of Texas school students.

Educator Preparation Program Advisory Council Members

 School District Members:

Ms. Sheri Blankenship, sheriblankenship@herefordisd.net

Mr. Ken Carriere, kenc@canyonisd.net

Mr. Phil Guerra, phillip.guerra@dumas-k12.net

Mr. John Hancock, john.hancock@amaisd.org

Ms. Stacey Harris, stacey.harris@amaisd.org

Educational Service Center Members:

Mr. Ray Cogburn, ray.cogburn@esc16.net

Community Members:

Mr. Keith Brown, kbrown@opportunityplan.com

Program Members:

Mr. Don Parker, dparker285@amaonline.com

Ms. Tara Schilling, tschilling@canyonisd.net

University Members:

Dr. Eddie Henderson, ehenderson@wtamu.edu

Dr. Jim Calvi, jcalvi@wtamu.edu

Dr. Amy Andersen, aandersen@wtamu.edu

Mr. Buddy Fox, gfox@wtamu.edu

Susan L. Allen, slallen@wtamu.edu

Mr. Gilbert Antunez, gantunez@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Teacher Education Unit

The Teacher Education Unit reviews, approves certificates and recommends curricula for all teacher education programs. The Unit is a University standing committee (See WTAMU Faculty Handbook ).

TEU Members

Dr. Eddie Henderson, Dean College of Education and Social Sciences, WTAMU

Dr. Amy Andersen, Head Department of Education, WTAMU

Mr. Ray Barbosa, Highland Park I.S.D.

Ms. Sheri Blankenship, Hereford I.S.D.

Dr. Anand Commissiong, Assistant Professor, WTAMU

Dr. Hector Garza, Assistant Professor, WTAMU

Dr. Nabarun Ghosh, Professor, WTAMU

Dr. Lance Kieth, Associate Professor, WTAMU

Ms. Kristina Gill, Assistant Professor, WTAMU

Ms. Mona Gregory, Instructor, WTAMU

Mr. John Landon, Professor, WTAMU

Dr. Andrew Li, Assistant Professor, WTAMU

Ms. Lorna Strong, Department Head and Instructor, WTAMU

Dr. Jean Stuntz, Associate Professor, WTAMU

Mr. Russ Teweleit, Assistant Professor, WTAMU

Dr. Pat Tyrer, Associate Professor, WTAMU

Jean Walker

Ms. Miranda Bolden

Ms. Karen Atkinson

Laurie Duck

Susan Allen

Buddy Fox

Teri Bingham

Ex Officio Members

Ms. Susan Dennis, University Certification Officer, WTAMU

Social Work Program Advisory Council

The Social Work Program Advisory Council supports the Social Work program, and is made up of community social workers, students, and other interested constituents.


Social Work Program Advisory Council Members

Amy Hord, amy.hord@amaisd.org

April Hernandez, april.hernandez@dfps.state.tx.us

Bachman, Rebekah, rbachman@mail.wtamu.edu

Barbara Telischak, telischakb@msn.com

Beaty, Darla D., dbeaty@mail.wtamu.edu

Cara Speer, cspeer@mail.wtamu.edu

Carrie Jacobs, carrielijacobs@yahoo.com

Chesa Morris, carrieljacobs@yahoo.com

Chesa Morris, franchesca.morris@txpan.org

Cindy Morris, frmorris1@buffs.wtamu.edu

Cindy Otter, cotter@wtamu.edu

Clara Valdez, clara.valdez@med.va.gov

Dan Adams, danadams@calfarley.org

Darla Beaty, dbeaty@wtamu.edu

Denise Draper, denise.draper@nwths.com

Jana Campbell, jana.campbell@dshs.state.tx.us

Jana Thurman, jana.thurman@bsahs.org

Jane King, janeking@rcjj.org

Janet Byars, janet@fss-ama.org

Jenifer, jkunz@mail.wtamu.edu

Jennifer Wheeler, jennifer.wheeler@bsahs.org

Joel Enriquez, enriquez.vj@gmail.com

Jordan Fajardo, jordanfajardo@actx.edu

Melody Loya, mloya@mail.wtamu.edu

Pam Wooten, pwooten@fss-ama.org

Pat Greenwood, pat.greenwood@dshs.state.tx.us

Phillips Kimberli, kphillips@mail.wtamu.edu

Roy Bowen, roy@hopeandhealingplace.org

Shirley Harrold, s.harrold@juno.com

Speer, Cara G., cspeer@mail.wtamu.edu

Stan McKeever, smckeever@harringtoncc.org

Susan Hammett, susan.hammett@dfps.state.tx.us

Teena Hall, zucru11@suddenlink.net

Tracy Kilgore, tracy.kilgore@va.gov

 

Apply Now