West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
College of Business Accomplishments

Recent Accomplishments

Professorship Appointments. AT a ceremony held on February 16, 2015 the College of Business announced the appointments of Dr. Jeffry Babb as the Gensler Professor of CIS, Dr. Bin Shao as the Terry Professor of Business, Dr. Leigh Browning as the Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship, and Dr. Sharon Burnett as the Gene Edwards Professor of Accounting.

Enactus Success.  WTAMU’s Enactus/SIFE team placed in the top 40 at the April 2014 USA National Exposition competition in Ohio .

Faculty Awards. The College of Business announced the following winners of the 2015 faculty and staff awards: Teaching Excellence Award to Ms. Karen Cooley, instructor of accounting; Research Excellence Award to Dr. Andrew Li, Williams Professor of Management; Service Excellence Award to Dr. Leigh Browning, Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship, and Staff Service Excellence Award to Amber Black, administrative assistant for undergraduate programs.

Enterprize Challenge Awards. Seven local businesses received investment funding through the 20th Anniversary Amarillo EnterPrize Challenge at the 2015 Awards Ceremony held at the WT Enterprise Center. 2015 was a banner year for the Amarillo EnterPrize Challenge, with the largest participation rate to date and the highest number of recipients to receive investment through the program. "Over the last 20 years, this program and the investment of over 4.6 million dollars in local companies have produced significant and sustainable growth for our economy. The Amarillo Economic Development Corporation plays an integral role in supporting this program through their funding efforts. The EnterPrize Challenge is the largest grant business plan competition in the world - hosted right here in Amarillo. The return on investment the EnterPrize Challenge offers our local community, shows how valuable collaboration within the entrepreneur ecosystem can be", says David Terry Executive Director of the Enterprise Center. "There are very few entrepreneurial investment programs that support a diversified economic growth strategy and involve the community at the level the Amarillo EnterPrize Challenge does." The Seven Local Businesses selected to receive investment through the 2015 Amarillo EnterPrize Challenge are as follows:

3rd Coast Soda - $60,000
President: Michael Haning
3rd Coast Soda develops and distributes natural craft syrups for soda fountain machines with a nod towards healthier alternative sweeteners, specifically cane sugar, organic cane sugar, and stevia.

Circle 21 Candles - $50,000
Owner: Janet Coffman
Circle 21 Candles manufactures organic handmade, soy based candles in recycled wine bottles.

Evocation Coffee Roasters - $50,000
President: Roman Leal
Evocation Coffee Roasters is a wholesale coffee roasting operation providing specialized craft coffee to buyers across the nation.

PlanIt Wed - $100,000
CEO: Parie Donaldson
PlanIt Wed is a web-based solution and online application that helps both the DIY (Do It Yourself) bride and the wedding planner map out and manage their big day.

Process Art House - $100,000
CEO: Jacob Breeden
Process Art House is a fine art leasing, brokerage and custom creation firm located in Downtown Amarillo.

ROI Online - $40,000
Owner: Steve Brown
ROI Online is an internet marketing agency that provides businesses with a full marketing solution tailored to help them attract ideal customers.

Zynia Business Solutions - $100,000
CEO: Julie Hulsey
Zynia Business Solutions is a human resource and compliance consulting firm with the ability to serve as their clients' Human Resource Department.