West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Art, Theatre and Dance Faculty

Department of Art, Theatre and Dance
Full-Time Faculty

Crystal Bertrand­

Crystal Bertrand

Instructor of Dance
Tap, Ballet, Jazz

“I never tire of strong, structured training that supports the dancer in their quest for excellence and those who are vigilant about that progress and dream. I have dedicated and committed my career as an educator to inspire, entertain and achieve greater heights of artistic excellence. As an instructor of dance, my greatest desire and hope is that students will discover the feeling that was once shared with me; the true value of dance and with it what one can become. It is an amazing experience.”

cbertrand@wtamu.edu
Crystal Bertrand's Bio

Royal Brantley

Royal Brantley

 Regents Professor of Theatre,
 Director of Theatre
 Acting, Directing, Theatre History

"I enjoy the challenge of teaching theatre. Our approach at WTAMU is creative, scholarly and collaborative. I consider it an honor to pass the art and science of theatre on to the next generation."

rbrantley@wtamu.edu
Royal Brantley's Bio

Stephen CrandallStephen Crandall

Stephen Crandall

Associate Professor of Theatre,
Head of Art, Theatre and Dance,
Royal R. Brantley Endowed Professor of Theatre Studies
Acting, Voice and Movement

 

“Life is all memory, except for the one present moment that goes by you so quickly you hardly catch it going.” – Tennessee Williams

scrandall@wtamu.edu­­
Stephen Crandall's Bio

­Scott Frish

Scott Frish

Associate Professor of Art
Printmaking, Computer Art

“Creativity is born of hands and minds, it is a lifelong pursuit. I don’t believe in a beginning, and I hope there is no end. Together we can travel the path to a world of possibilities.”

sfrish@wtamu.edu­­
Scott Fish's Bio

­Callie Hisek

Callie Hisek

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting, Script Analysis

"You are going to change the world, because that is actually what the world is. You do not pass through this life, it passes through you. You experience it, you interpret it, you act, and then it is different. That happens constantly. You are changing the world. You always have been." Joss Whedon

chisek@wtamu.edu
Callie Hisek's Bio

John Landon

John Landon

Professor of Theatre,
Technical Director
Stagecraft, Stage Management

"Technical theatre is a wonderful job where every day is a different challenge. Technical theatre is never boring."

jlandon@wtamu.edu ­­
John Landon's Bio ­­
John Landon's Personal Page

Andrew Lewis

Andrew Barratt Lewis

Assistant Professor of Musical Theatre
Musical Theatre, Acting

“Anything you do, let it come from you, then it will be new. Give us more to see…” Sunday in the Park with George, Stephen Sondheim

alewis@wtamu.edu ­­
Andrew Lewis' Bio

Andrew Lewis' Personal Page

 

Anne Medlock

Anne Medlock-Ely

Associate Professor of Theatre
Costume Design/Technology, Makeup

"My favorite part about designing costumes is getting to work with a variety of students, from working with the actors wearing the costumes, to technicians working in the costume shop, to students who have never sewn before. I get to work with and get to know everyone in the department."

amedlock@wtamu.edu­­
Anne Medlock-Ely's Bio

Anne Medlock-Ely's Personal Page

 

Marcus Melton

Marcus Melton

Associate Professor of Art
Graphic Design, Illustration

mmelton@wtamu.edu
Marcus Melton's Bio

Jon Revett

Jon Revett

Assistant Professor of Art
Painting, Drawing

“Art is a universal form of communication. One can look down the great chain of art and know what people from other times are saying. My job is to teach this language.”

jrevett@wtamu.edu­­
Jonathan Revett's Bio

 

Tana Roberson

Tana Roberson

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Scenic and Lighting Design, Lighting Technology, Painting and Rendering

“The theatre is a school. We shall never be done with studying and learning. In the theatre, as in life, we try first of all to free ourselves, as far as we can, from our own limitations. Then we can practice ‘this noble and magical art.’ Then we may dream.” –Robert Edmond Jones

troberson@wtamu.edu­­
Tana Roberson's Bio

Tana Roberson's Personal Page

Edward Truitt

Edward Truitt

Associate Professor of Dance
Ballet, Jazz, Somatics, Dance History

“George Balanchine once said, ‘I don't want people who want to dance, I want people who have to dance.’I had to dance, and became a professional dancer performing solo and principal roles in ballet and dancing in modern and jazz works. So if you have to dance like I did, then I invite you to consider the dance program at WTAMU. I am a passionate and successful teacher of the art of dance. My students have gone on to dance professionally in ballet companies, modern companies, in the entertainment field, and have danced professionally on every continent except Antarctica.”

etruitt@wtamu.edu
Edward Truitt's Bio

Amy Von Lintel

Amy Von Lintel

Associate Professor of Art History,
Doris Alexander Endowed Distinguished Professor of Fine Arts, Director of Gender Studies
Art History, Aesthetics

"All of my courses seek to engage students intellectually, critically, and creatively with the history of art."

avonlintel@wtamu.edu­­
Amy Von Lintel's Bio

Leslie Williams

Leslie Williams

Associate Professor of Dance,
Director of Dance
Modern, Ballet, Choreography 

"I truly believe that dance is the only art form that encompasses every quality of a human being: the mind, body and soul. Each day in the studio is a gift from my students as I watch them grow and develop into young artists. Their self-discovery enriches my teaching process and allows me to continue to learn with them. I feel that all art forms are vital to the existence of our planet and that through dance we are allowed to address every human emotion."

lewilliams@wtamu.edu­­
Leslie Williams' Bio

Adjunct Faculty

Michael Grauer

Lecturer of Western American Studies mgrauer@wtamu.edu

Derek Hisek

Instructor of Theatre dhisek@wtamu.edu

Jill Ludington

Instructor of Theatre Education jludington@wtamu.edu

Vance McSwain

Instructor of Art Education hmcswain@wtamu.edu

Jay Sawyer

Instructor of Theatre jsawyer@wtamu.edu

Ann Underwood

Instructor of Graphic Design aunderwood@wtamu.edu

Rob Weingart

Instructor of Art rweingart@wtamu.edu
Staff

Maria Albutra

Costume Shop Supervisor malbutra@wtamu.edu

Nik Peacock

Scene Shop Foreman npeacock@wtamu.edu

Christie Spring

Departmental Secretary cspring@wtamu.edu

Jan Walser

Musical Theatre Accompanist jwalser@wtamu.edu