West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance Faculty

Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance
Faculty

­Barthel

Dr. Anne-Christine Barthel

Assistant Professor of Economics & Decision Management

Dr. Barthel joined the College of Business in 2016.  Her teaching areas include Quantitative Methods in Business and courses in Microeconomic Theory.

abarthel@wtamu.edu
Dr. Barthel's Bio 
Dr. Barthel's CV

­Amber Black

Amber Black

Instructor of Finance & Director of Undergraduate Business Programs

Ms. Black joined the College of Business in 2014. ­She spent 10 years working in the banking industry before coming to West Texas A&M University. ­Her teaching areas include Personal Finance and Real Estate Finance.

ablack@wtamu.edu
Amber Black's Bio­
Amber Black's CV

 
­Sharon Burnett

Dr. Sharon Burnett

Associate Professor & Edwards Professor of Accounting

Dr. Burnett returned to WT in 2013. ­She originally served as an assistant and was promoted to associate professor from 2000-2007. ­Dr. Burnett teaches Accounting for Decision Making, Cost Accounting, and Accounting Information Systems courses.

sburnett@wtamu.edu
Dr. Burnett's Bio­
Dr. Burnett's CV

­Barthel

Krista Carver

Visiting Instructor of Finance and Economics

Ms. Carver earned a M.S. in Finance & Economics at West Texas A&M University.  She teaches principles of macroeconomics and corporate finance.  Ms. Carver plans on pursuing a Ph.D. in Management  in the fall of 2017.

scarver@wtamu.edu
Krista Carver's Bio 
 

­David Clark

David Clark

Instructor of Accounting and Healthcare Management

"Education should be thought of as a life-long trust fund in which, over the years, you should always strive to make more deposits than withdrawals!."

dclark2@wtamu.edu
David Clark's Bio­
David Clark's CV

­Karen Cooley

Karen Cooley

Instructor of Accounting

"What I enjoy most about teaching at West Texas A&M University is the opportunity to meet students and learn about who they are, not just as students but as people."

kcooley@wtamu.edu
Karen Cooley's Bio­
Karen Cooley's CV

­De'Arno De'Armond

Dr. De'Arno De'Armond

Associate Professor of Finance­ & Edwards Professor of Financial Planning

"It has been said, 'People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care.' I love walking into a classroom. It is an honor to share ideas and concepts in the learning environment with tomorrow's leaders."

ddearmond@wtamu.edu
Dr. De'Armond's Bio
Dr. De'Armond's CV

Dr. Karyn Friske

Dr. Karyn Friske

Professor of Accounting ­& Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics

"Nine tenths of education is encouragement." - Anatole France

kfriske@wtamu.edu
Dr. Friske's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Friske's CV

 

Stephen Hayward

Stephen Hayward

Adjunct Instructor of Economics

“Great thoughts speak only to the thoughtful mind, but great actions speak to all mankind.” - Theodore Roosevelt

shayward@wtamu.edu
Stephen Hayward's Bio
Stephen Hayward's CV

Dr. Eric Hoffmann

Dr. Eric Hoffmann

Assistant Professor of Economics

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”

ehoffmann@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hoffmann's Bio
Dr. Hoffmann's CV

Shan Lei

Dr. Shan Lei

Assistant Professor of Finance & Economics

Dr. Lei joined the College of Business in 2015.  Her research includes publications in Journal of  Personal Finance and Financial Counseling and Planning.

slei@wtamu.edu
Dr. Lei's Bio
Dr. Lei's CV

Lisa Lightfoot

Lisa Lightfoot

Instructor of Accounting

"An investment in knowledge pays the best interest." - Benjamin Franklin

llightfoot@mail.wtamu.edu
Lisa Lightfoot's Bio

Lisa Lightfoot's CV

 

Ryan S. Mattson

Dr. Ryan S. Mattson

Assistant Professor of Economics

“There is no science without measurement, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards.” - Commission of the European Union

rmattson@wtamu.edu­
Dr. Mattson's Bio

Dr. Mattson's CV

Dr. Neil Meredith

Dr. Neil Meredith

Assistant Professor of Economics & Dana Professor of Business

"By pursuing his own interest [man] frequently promotes that of the society more effectually than when he really intends to promote it." - Adam Smith

nmeredith@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Meredith's Bio­

Dr. Meredith's CV

 

­Lisa L. Mitchell

Lisa Mitchell

Coordinator of Graduate Programs and Instructor of Finance

“Think for yourself. Trust your own intuition. Another’s mind isn’t walking your journey, you are.”

lmitchell@wtamu.edu ­­
Lisa Mitchell's Bio

Lisa Mitchell's CV

­Newton

Dr. Ashley Newton

Assistant Professor of Accounting

Dr. Newton joined the College of Business in 2016.  Her teaching areas include Managerial Accounting, Financial Accounting, and Healthcare Accounting.

anewton@wtamu.edu ­­
Dr. Newton's Bio 

Dr. Newton's CV

 

­Dr. Jim Owens

Dr. Jim Owens

Professor of Finance & Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance

"People who manage people manage people who manage things; people who manage money manage everything." - Will Durant

jowens@wtamu.edu
Dr. Owens' Bio­­­
Dr. Owens' CV

­Dr. Rex Pjesky

Dr. Rex Pjesky

Associate Dean of the Graduate School & Associate Professor of Economics

"...And very often the influence exerted on a person's character by the amount of his income is hardly less, if it is less, than that exerted by the way in which it is earned." - Alfred Marshall

rpjesky@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Pjesky's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Pjesky's CV

 

Darlene Pulliam

Dr. Darlene Pulliam

Professor of Accounting, McCray Professor of Business, and Regents Professor

"Success in life is the result of hard work and persistance.­  If you are not working hard and maybe even struggling at whatever you are doing, you are not reaching your potential.­  Coasting is not acceptable."

dpulliam@wtamu.edu
Dr. Pulliam's Bio­­­
Dr. Pulliam's CV

­Parman Reynolds

Parman Reynolds

Part-time Instructor of Finance & Economics­­

“Economics surrounds us and guides our daily existence in a constantly changing environment.­  My goal is to provide students with a practical business perspective of economics, and to encourage them to appreciate the everyday applications of its principles.”

parman@engineeringamarillo.com­­­­
­Dr. Duane Rosa

Dr. Duane Rosa

Professor of Economics

"Students that enroll in one of my classes can expect to be actively involved in the subject matter of the course.  It is my hope that students acquire not only essential course content, but hopefully will adopt an appreciation for learning that will stay with them a lifetime."

drosa@wtamu.edu­ ­
Dr. Rosa's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Rosa's CV

­Stitzel

Dr. Brandli Stitzel

Assistant Professor of Economics

“The curious task of economics is to demonstrate to men how little they really know about what they imagine they can design.” – F.A. Hayek

bstitzel@wtamu.edu­ ­
Dr. Stitzel's Bio 
Dr. Stitzel's CV

 

Dr. Anne Macy Terry

Dr. Anne Macy Terry

Edwards Professor of Finance

"I chose finance and economics because I love that it is a mixture of the practical and the theoretical. The central theme is "how do people and firms make optimal decisions?" The decisions exist in a world with competing goals and constraints. The answer is different every day and with every group of decision-makers. "

amacy@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Macy's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Macy's CV

­Dr. Neil Terry

Dr. Neil Terry

Dean of the College of Business and Professor of Economics

"If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man can have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience and ability" - Henry Ford

nterry@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Terry's Bio­­­­­­
Dr. Terry's CV

 

­Alice Upshaw

Alice Upshaw

Instructor of Accounting

“Learn as if you were to live forever; live as if you were to die tomorrow.” - Mahatma Gandhi

aupshaw@wtamu.edu­­­
Alice Upshaw's Bio­­ ­
Alice Upshaw's CV

 

Dr. Huabing (Barbara) Wang

Dr. Huabing (Barbara) Wang

Associate Professor of Finance and Edwards Professor of Banking

"To learn and never be filled, is wisdom; to teach and never be weary, is love." - Arabian Proverb

hwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Wang's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Wang's CV