West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of English, Philosophy and Modern Languages Faculty

Department of English, Philosophy and Modern Languages
Faculty

 Susan Amos

Susan Amos

Instructor of Spanish

samos@wtamu.edu
Ms. Susan Amos's Bio

 Daniel Bloom

Dr. Daniel Bloom

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

dbloom@wtamu.edu
Dr. Daniel Bloom's Bio

 Ryan Brooks

Dr. Ryan M. Brooks

Instructor of English

rbrooks@wtamu.edu
Dr. Ryan Brooks's Bio

Sandra Davdson

Sandra Davidson

Instructor of Spanish

sdavidson@wtamu.edu
Ms. Sandra Davidson's Bio

 Valerie Dennis

Valerie Dennis

Instructor of English

vdennis@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Valerie Dennis's Bio

 

 RayLene Dysert

RayLene Dysert

Instructor of English

rdysert@wtamu.edu 
Ms. RayLene Dysert's Bio

 

Dr. David Hart

Dr. David Hart

Associate Professor of Philosophy

"The Ideas are just as little enthroned above our heads as they reside inside them; they walk among us and step up to us."  -- Martin Buber

dhart@wtamu.edu
Dr. David Hart's Bio

Dr. Monica Smith

Dr. Monica Hart

Associate Professor of English;  Director, Office of Writing Programs

 "When I first enrolled in graduate school, I thought I was going to specialize in the 20th-century American novel. But then I took Victorian Literature, and before I knew it, I had a degree in 19th-century British poetry. Just goes to show what one class can do!"

mhart@wtamu.edu
Dr. Monica Hart's Bio

 

 Dr. Alexander Hunt

Dr. Alexander Hunt

Professor of English; the Haley Endowed Professor of Western Studies

ahunt@mail.wtamu.edu 
Dr. Alexander Hunt's Bio

 

 Dr. Martin Jacobsen

Dr. Martin Jacobsen

Associate Professor of English

"Studying English allows us to look beneath the surface of language and see the human drama unfold, to learn that most of what we think we know probably isn't really so. I sum up studying English—studying period—with the following maxim: We learn more from questioning answers than we do from answering questions."

mjacobsen@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Martin Jacobsen's Bio

 Bonney Macdonald

Dr. Bonney MacDonald

Professor of English

“The West is the geography of hope.”
- Wallace Stegner

bmacdonald@mail.wtamu.edu  
Dr. Bonney MacDonald's Bio

 

Eric P. Meljac

Eric P. Meljac

Instructor of English

“To try to write love is to confront the muck of language: that region of hysteria where language is both too much and too little, excessive (by the limitless expansion of the ego, by emotive submersion) and impoverished (by the codes on which love diminishes and levels it).” --Roland Barthes

emeljac@mail.wtamu.edu  
Dr. Eric Meljac's Bio

Casey Pleming

Casey J. Pleming

Instructor of English

cpleming@wtamu.edu  
Ms. Casey J. Pleming's Bio

 

Dr. Andrew Reynolds

Associate Professor of Spanish; Director of the Spanish Program

areynolds@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Andrew Reynolds's Bio

 

 Bonnie Roos

Dr. Bonnie Roos

Professor of English; Undergraduate English Advisor

broos@wtamu.edu
Dr. Bonnie Roos's Bio

 Dr. Steven Severn

Dr. Stephen Severn

Professor of English;  Department Head for English, Philosophy, and Modern Languages

 "Students who enroll in my classes can expect to work hard, write frequently, and in doing so, gain a greater understanding of the language that they use everyday.  This knowledge will prepare them for success in whatever professional field or academic discipline that they pursue."

ssevern@wtamu.edu
Dr. Stephen Severn's Bio

 

Theresa Trela

Theresa Trela

Lecturer in English

"My students can expect fairness, fireworks and an intense relationship with the power of the written word.  Believe it or not, grammar can be sexy."

ttrela@wtamu.edu
Ms. Theresa Trela's Bio

 

 Dr. Patricia Tyrer

Dr. Patricia Tyrer

Professor of English

"If you looked in my high school year book under 'future plans,' you would see 'English Teacher' because I've been certain that I wanted to teach English since I was a teenager. I find teaching to be both a challenge and a joy, and I take pleasure in discussing everything from writing to literature to the latest films with my students, and I learn as much from them as they learn from me."

ptyrer@wtamu.edu
Dr. Patricia Tyrer's Bio

 

Dr. Nicole Walls

Assistant Professor of English

nwalls@wtamu.edu
Dr. Nicole Walls's Bio