West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Education Faculty

Department of Education
Faculty

 Gary Bigham

Dr. Gary Bigham

Associate Professor of Education

“My mission is to have an impact on young lives through their quality of education.  With 20 years experience as a teacher, principal and superintendent, I’ve been able to partially fulfill that mission.  At the university level, I instruct prospective principals and superintendents and conduct research in educational leadership. All advance my mission when considering students affected by administrators that complete our program.  This is a responsibility I do not take lightly!”

gbigham@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Bigham's Bio

Teri Bingham

Dr. Teri Bingham

Associate Professor of Education

"Students who want to be excellent teachers and make a difference in the lives of their students will learn best teaching practices, a variety of instructional strategies, effective communication techniques, and motivation tools.  I look forward to having you in class and getting to know you."

tbingham@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Bingham's Bio

Dr. Ashley J. Campbell

Dr. Ashley J. Campbell

Associate Professor of Education

"My students can expect to be prepared to teach hands-on, minds-on science for all children. They will explore teaching methods and strategies from selected topics in life science, physical science, earth science and space science guided by the most current research in science education."

acampbell@wtamu.edu
Dr. Campbell's Bio
Dr. Campbell's Personal Page

Yvette Castillo

Dr. Yvette Castillo

Associate Professor of Education

"Education is my passion in life and that energy is transferred into the classroom setting as I engage students in the process and practice of understanding dimensions of the human element. It is my goal to connect with students in such a way that they begin to embrace professional identity in the areas of ethics, advocacy, research and application naturally."

ycastillo@wtamu.edu
Dr. Castillo's Bio

Betty Coneway, Ph.D.

Dr. Betty Coneway

Assistant Professor of Education

The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be ignited." – Plutarch
As an educator, it is my goal to continually light that fire and inspire a passion for learning in all my students, no matter what age!

bconeway@wtamu.edu
Dr. Coneway's Bio

 Elsa Diego-Madrano

Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano

Assistant Professor of Education

emedrano@mail.wtamu.edu 
Elsa Diego-Medrano's Bio

 

 Angie Elkins

Dr. Angie Elkins

Assistant Professor of Education

"Some people come into our lives, leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never the same." -Franz Peter Schubert

aelkins@wtamu.edu 
Angie Elkins's Bio

 

 Beth Garcia

Dr. Beth Garcia

Assistant Professor of Education

“One hundred years from now, it won't matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in the bank, nor what my clothes looked like…BUT… the world may be a little better because, I was important in the life of a child.” –Forest Witcraft—

egarcia@wtamu.edu  
Beth Garcia's Bio

Frank Goode

Frank Goode

Assistant Professor

fgoode@wtamu.edu
Dr Good's Bio

 Leigh Green

Dr. Leigh Green

Assistant Professor of Education

As an educator, I have a responsibility for the experiences that students have with the counseling profession. Therefore, I take responsibility for encouraging each student to explore his or her own counseling style while consistently ensuring multicultural and ethical competence. It is through my support, encouragement, and knowledge as the professor that students are shaped into dynamic counselors.

legreen@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Green's Bio

 Janet Hindman

Dr. Janet Hindman

Assistant Professor of Education

jhindman@wtamu.edu
Janet Hindman's Bio

 Crystal Hughes

Dr. Crystal Hughes

Assistant Professor of Education

Who dares to teach must never cease to learn.” – John Cotton Dana

chughes@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hughes' Bio

Dr. Sang K. Hwang

Dr. Sang K. Hwang

Associate Professor of Education

"I feel proud of myself when I receive my students' positive feedback and reflect it for better teaching. I have the privilege of working in a collaborative environment at WTAMU where it’s full of teachers' pride. My students appreciate practical ideas, how to teach students in a creative way and at the same time, enjoying quality literature."

shwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hwang's Bio

Cheryl Landon

Cheryl Landon

Instructor of Education

I hope to provide opportunities, experiences and expectations that enable future educators to creatively dance and fluidly progress through their education at West Texas A&M University, not merely galumph through each course as a chore.

"Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty." - Henry Ford

clandon@wtamu.edu
Cheryl Landon's Bio

Susan Nix

Dr. Susan Nix

Professor of Education

"The students enrolled in the Educational Leadership program at WTAMU make my life interesting and challenging. Through our interactions on campus and online, I experience a wide range of school environments and have the honor of facilitating the sharing of their unique experiences with each other."

snix@wtamu.edu
Dr. Nix's Bio

Dr. Mark Riney

Dr. Mark Riney

Associate Professor of Education

"Teaching is an important profession, and I am proud to be a teacher educator. WTAMU has and will continue to produce excellent teachers for Texas schools."

mriney@wtamu.edu
Dr. RIney's Bio

Dr. Chanel Rodriguez

Dr. Chanel Rodriguez

Assistant Professor

“The ultimate aim of education is to enable individuals to become the architects of their own education and through that process to continually reinvent themselves.” –Eliot Eisner

rcrodriguez@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Rodriguez's Bio  

Rich Rose

Dr. Rich Rose

Associate Professor of Education

“Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I’ll spend the first four sharpening the axe.” - Abe Lincoln

rrose@mail.wtamu.edu   
Dr. Rose's Bio   
Dr. Rose's Personal Page

Laurie A. Sharp

Dr. Laurie Sharp

Assistant Professor

“Education is not the filling of a pail but the lighting of a fire.” - William Butler Yeats

lsharp@wtamu.edu
Dr. Sharp's Bio

Jennifer Stegall

Dr. Jennifer Stegall

Assistant Professor

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”  (William A. Ward)

jstegall@wtamu.edu
Dr. Stegall's Bio

Dr. Conn Thomas

Dr. Conn Thomas

Geneva Schaeffer Professor of Education and Social Sciences
Director, Center for Learning Disabilities

"I enjoy teaching special education because it is such a dynamic and growing discipline."

cthomas@wtamu.edu
Dr. Thomas' Bio

 
 

Dr. Judy Williams

Assistant Professor, Department Head

"My mother and my father were illiterate immigrants from Russia. When I was a child they were constantly amazed that I could go to a building and take a book on any subject. They couldn't believe this access to knowledge we have here in America. They couldn't believe that it was free. "
~Kirk Douglas

jdwilliams@wtamu.edu
Judy Williams' Bio