West Texas A&M University - Home
Department of Communication Success Stories

Department of Communication

Success Stories

Study Abroad Summer Programs:

  • Dr. Butler Cain and Prof. Kim Bruce are directing a study abroad experience or 10 of our students from June 5 through June 20, 2013 in South Korea and Japan.
  • Dr. Kris Drumheller will join Dr. Nick Gerlich of the College of Business for a London Study Abroad trip focusing on the marketing of Wimbledon June 24 through July 5.
  • Prof. Connie McKee and Prof. Mona Gregory completed a site visit to Peru in May and are putting together a proposal for a Peru Study Abroad experience for Summer, 2014.


Student Accomplishments:

  • In April, our Buffalo Advertising Team made history when they placed first in regional competition. They compete for the national title in Phoenix, June 6-7, 2013.
  • The One Sessions video of Natalie Schlabs earned a Bronze Telly award and will be broadcast locally on KVII, Channel 7.
  • The Prairie and Eternal Flame staff brought home 14 awards from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association in March, 2013.
  • Broadcast Journalism graduate Melissa Bauer-Herzog was selected for a Fulbright Research Award to the United Kingdom
  • The Department of Communication sponsored events to raise awareness of the International Day for the Eradication of Poverty and Freshmen Seminar students were featured on KAFD Channel 10 News.
  • Mike Lawton and Chris Bridenbaugh presented their rhetorical criticism essays at the 2013 SSCA Undergraduate Honors Conference.
  • Our Forensics Team finished 7th in the nation at NFA.
  • Communication Studies graduate Chris Bridenbaugh was selected for the Teach for America program and will be working in Kansas. MCOM graduate Jessica Wyers was also selected for TFA.
  • Broadcast Journalism graduate Krystina Martinez completed an internship at NPR during spring, 2013 and Communication Studies senior Jill Bramlet was selected as a Congressional Intern for Summer 2013.
  • Ad/Pr majors Mateo Pinzon, Julia Greif, and Wilson Lemieux received a Gold Addy for "Life Innovated" Nissan Campaign; Darren Darthard received a Silver Addy for "The Sky's the Limit," and Josh Durham received a Silver Addy for "Texas Legends."


Faculty Accomplishments: 

  • Dr. Butler Cain will be presenting his international journalism teaching idea at the World Journalism Education Conference in Belgium in July.
  • Prof. Lori Westermann and Dr. Trudy Hanson received WTAMU Foundation grants during Fall, 2012.
  • Dr. Emily Kinksy's co-authored paper (Kris Drumheller, Nick Gerlich, Megan Brock, and Mark Sollosy) received the Arthur W. Page Center Benchmarking Award. This paper was also featured on a blogpost: http://blogs.comm.psu.edu/thepagecenter
  • Prof. Randy Ray was named NBS Professional member in 2013 and received the Outstanding Advisor Award at the annual Student Organizations Honors Banquet.
  • In May, 2013, the Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts recognized Dr. Butler Cain for his outstanding teaching, Dr. Emily Kinsky for her outstanding intellectual contributions, and Prof. Lori Westermann for her outstanding professional service.




Apply Now American Communication Association Logo