West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Student Government

Student Government

Student Government's Facebook PageStudent Government is one of the most active student organizations at West Texas A&M University. By evaluating issues that affect the student body, Student Government works closely with faculty and staff to ensure an academically challenging University while providing many opportunities for fun.

Three branches make up Student Government: executive, legislative, and judicial. Each branch represents the student body in a different way, while providing checks and balances on the other branches.



Executive Branch

Landry Morren Student Body President

Landry Morren
Student Body President

Phone: 806-651-2386
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 102E
Email:­ lmorren@wtamu.edu

The student body president presides over the executive branch of the Student Government. The president represents the student body and is the principal liaison between WTAMU students and the faculty, staff and administration. The president also acts as the chief executive officer of the Student Government. The president is the official student spokesperson for the University at the local, system, state and national levels. The student body president is responsible for appointing students to University standing committees and is accountable for seeing that all provisions of the WTAMU constitution are faithfully executed.

Legislative Branch

Zach McMeans Student Body Vice President

Zach McMeans
Student Body Vice President
Student Senate President

Phone: 806-651-2387
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 102D
Email:­ zmcmeans@wtamu.edu

The student body vice president and student senate president is responsible for the legislative branch of Student Government. This branch consists of Student Senate with approximately 35 elected senators who represent WTAMU students in their designated college or freshmen and graduate students. The purpose of student senate is to represent the students' views to the University administration. Through bills, resolutions and committees, Student Senate takes action on various University issues and student concerns.­


Student Senators

  • College of Agriculture,­Science and Engineering (ASE)
  • College of Nursing and Health Sciences (NHS)
  • College of Business (COB)
  • College of Education and Social Sciences (ESS)
  • Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities (FAH)
  • Freshmen Senators
  • Graduate School Senators

Student Government Committees

The four committees within Student Senate develop goals that benefit the entire student body, working to achieve these goals during the semester. The four committees are:

  • Rules and Appropriations
  • Academic Affairs
  • Student Affairs
  • Public Relations

If you would like to get involved with Student Government, consider ­joining Student Senate. Each college is designated a specific number of senators, based on the number of students in their college. If a vacancy is available in your college, download, print, and fill out the application below and bring it by JBK 102E.

Online Senate Vacancy Application


Judicial Branch

Ben Gilliland Student Body Chief Justice

Ben Gilliland
Student Body Chief Justice

Phone: 806-651-2388
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 102C
Email:­ bgilliland@wtamu.edu

The chief justice is the presiding officer over the judicial branch of the Student Government and forms the Student Judicial Board (SJB) with four associate justices. The chief justice oversees general elections and referendums.

  • Chief Justice Pro Tem - Ben Gilliland
  • Associate Justice - Colten Clemans
  • Associate Justice - Niall Pratt
  • Associate Justice - Emily Stenzel



­ ­