All students are held to the publish rules and procedures printed in the Code of Student Life, specifically item 2, in Students' Responsibilities, "Students have the responsibility to be fully acquainted with the published University rules and procedures and to comply with them and the laws of the land."
Tuition, fee, room and meal charges are to be paid in full by the published registration term due date. A deferred payment plan is available for the fall and spring semesters and must be submitted when the term charges are not paid in full. Terms of the deferred payment plan agreement are listed below. Any fall or spring account balance not paid in full by the regular payment deadline will be assessed a $25.00 administrative fee and may be subject to late fees for any missed payment deadlines prescribed by the assigned payment plan, visible on View Account and Make Payments on Buff Advisor. Payments for tuition, fees, room and meals are made to the Business Office or through Buff Advisor.
Payments can be made by:
Emergency loans for tuition and fees will be applied to the student's account after the 12th class day of the semester for fall and spring, after the 4th class day for summer semesters, and within 24 to 48 working hours for intersession semesters. A confirmation number will be shown on the last screen when the loan application is completed. All applicants will receive an email in their Buff email account 24 to 48 working hours after applying giving the status of their application. Interest begins accruing when the loan is applied to the student's university balance as a payment at the rate of 5% daily. The maximum tuition and fee amount for fall and spring is $2,500.00, and for summer and intersession semesters is $1,500.00.
Book loans are applied to the student's Buffalo Gold Card, and cannot be transmitted in any other way. Loans are 90 day loans in the fall and spring semesters and 45 day loans in the summer and interesession terms. Interest begins accruing when the loan is applied to the student's Buff Gold Card at the rate of 12% daily. The maximum book loan is $600.00 in the fall and spring semesters, $200.00 in the summer terms, and $100.00 in the intersessions. Students may apply for emergency tuition and fee and book loans through Buff Advisor using the emergency loan link.
Please see our Financial Management Check Sheets, located on the Business Office Forms page for helpful, step by step check sheets to assure success for Fall 2015.
Fall 2016 Payment Deadlines
Beginning Fall 2016, there will be one payment deadline for the first payment regardless of when a student is registered for class. All accounts that have not met the required minimum 25% payment of total charges will be in danger of being deleted for not meeting the payment deadline requirement.
Payment must be received in the Business Office by the 4pm deadline. Payments postmarked on the due date are not considered as meeting the deadline.
All accounts not paid in full by the final payment deadline for the semester will receive an immediate account hold. This hold will prevent the student from registering for future semesters, as well as accessing transcripts and diplomas. Accounts that are more than five months overdue will be turned over to collections, and all additional collection fees will be the responsibility of the student in addition to fees owed to West Texas A&M University, as per State Law (Texas Education Code, Sec. 54.007).
Failure to pay by the due date may result in cancellation of registration. Students will be charged $25 and an additional $4 per semester credit hour in registration fees if priority registration schedules are deleted and they re-register. Students who registered in the regular registration period who are deleted for non-payment will be charged a $100 fee to re-register.
Itemized billing information is available on the web through Buff Advisor, by clicking on View Account and Make Payments, then clicking Account Activity.
Tuition, fees, room and board may be paid on a deferred payment plan during the fall and spring semesters only.
One-fourth of account balance is due by January 12, for students registered on or before January 3. Students who register after January 3 must have one-fourth of account balance paid by January 26. Any amount paid prior to the January 26th payment deadline (includes personal payment, financial aid, sponsored billing, etc) is considered the first payment. Payment plans are assigned to all accounts with a remaining balance after January 26, dividing the remaining balance due into three equal payments. Payment plan deadlines are:
All payments are due by 4 p.m.
Students who choose to pay on a deferred payment plan will be charged a $25 administration fee and should submit a payment plan agreement through Buff Advisor. All accounts not paid in full by the Regular Registration deadline on January 26th will be assigned a Payment Plan Fee of $25. In addition, any account that has an 'overdue' balance showing on View Account and Make Payments for the February, March and April payment deadlines will be assessed a $15 late fee for each missed payment deadline.
“AN ADMINISTRATIVE FEE OF $25.00 WILL BE ADDED; the administrative fee is not refundable once this form is submitted or a payment plan is assigned.
A late charge of $15.00 is charged for each payment that is late. I understand that according to State Law (Texas Education Code, Sec. 54.007) failure to make payment within the prescribed due date will result in any or all of the following: A STUDENTS WHO FAILS TO MAKE FULL PAYMENT OF TUITION AND FEES, INCLUDING ANY INCIDENTAL FEES, BY THE DUE DATE MAY BE PROHIBITED FROM REGISTERING FOR CLASSES UNTIL FULL PAYMENT IS MADE. A STUDENT WHO FAILS TO MAKE PAYMENT PRIOR TO THE END OF THE SEMESTER MAY BE DENIED CREDIT FOR THE WORK DONE THAT SEMESTER.
I further understand that if this includes payment for room and board and payment is not made within the prescribed dates as stated below, I will be subject to all applicable rules and regulations governing payment for room and board as well as the terms and conditions of my housing contract.
Withdrawal may not relieve the student of financial obligation for payment of tuition and fees. Failure to pay does not mean automatic withdrawal. Please contact the Registrar’s Office for proper withdrawal procedures. Refunds for withdrawals are calculated on TOTAL amount of tuition and fees NOT on amount paid. Please contact the Business Office for questions regarding payments and refunds.
Expense incurred in collecting the amounts due under this agreement, including but not limited to collection fees, attorney fees, and court costs will be the responsibility of the student.
If I fail to make payment as specified below, I will be held responsible for any and all collection costs in addition to the required payment.
Initial payment (minimum 25% of total charges) required by appropriate registration payment deadline. All amounts paid prior to the regular registration deadline are considered initial payment. Payment plans are assigned the day following this payment deadline, in which the remaining balance is divided into three equal payments.
1/3 of remaining balance due on or before 2/15/16
1/3 of remaining balance due on or before 3/11/16
Final payment deadline (paid in full), due on or before 4/15/16”